Venison Tips and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
We love it using Zatarains. Try Worcestershire with meat, maybe mushrooms. See note
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
I tried this and I have to say it was awesome, my husband wants me to make it again thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
This was absolutely amazing!! We will definately be making this many more times!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I made this according to the recipe except that I used ground venison. It was outstanding! I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
very nice recipe. I soaked my venison in milk for about 8 hr prior to cooking. I think it helps. used "dirty rice." simple recipe on a busy night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I made this for the 1st time last night with some venison I had in the freezer. I used the Zatarain's Dirty Rice instead of the Beef as well. My 12-year old said "Mom - This is one of my new favorite dinners!" My husband loved it as well. I liked it very much too, although the rice was kinda spicy for me, but I still went back for 2nds!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I would have rated this only as a 1 star if it were only me eating it, but my hubby and 2yr old ate it up. I needed to use up the deer that has been in our freezer for awhile and I liked the idea of the fresh veggies. It really didn't suite my taste buds at all. I do not care for venison and tried this because several people commented about how they don't like venison but enjoyed this dish. I can't say I'm among that group. Not a fan - won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Great recipe when you don't have much prep. time. After making this a few times over the last year I have tweaked the recipe so everyone in my family likes it better. I started the Zatarain's beef flavored rice with just the water, not adding the butter listed on the box. Then I cut up a venison tenderloin into bite size pieces. In a seperate pan I put a little olive oil and some garlic letting it cook for just a minute, then I added the venison and some worcestershire (1 - 2 T). I let the meat cook about 15 seconds then start turning the pieces over -- the trick with venison tenderloin is to barely cook it, over cooking makes it tough fast! After turning over each piece (total cooking about a minute) I added all the liquid and the meat to the cooking rice (10 - 12 minutes cooking time remained). I opened the vent on my pot lid (or set the lid a little off center) to allow the extra liquid to evaporate while adding the garlic and worcestershire flavors. My teenage boys had friends over who ended up eating with us. They both thought it was steak and almost did not believe us when we said it was venison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
I really loved this recipe for the flavors and changes I made, however I DO like the taste of venison so I missed that. I did love cooking the meat with the rice and water. That did really help to tenderize the usually tough deer meat. Changes I made: Used Tony Cacheray's Red Beans and Rice mix, added a chopped jalepeno pepper (with seeds cause we like it spicy), canola oil instead of veggie (which doesn't make a difference), and used ground venison sausage as well as sliced vension tips. Started to brown the tips a bit before the sausage as I knew the sausage would brown quicker. We had sliced squash and zucchini on the side. This ended up more like a gumbo/stu although I only used the recommended amount of water that the rice called for. So although we ate it out of a bowl it still tasted divine (minus the venison flavor).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkpigeon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Campania, Italy
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Really bland.... needs some more spices or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States