Venison Tequila Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Taste was bland. Definitely needed something, but not sure what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Charleston, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This is my go to chili recipe! Always a hit as is...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Just made this fantastic chili! Took suggestions from other reviewers and used ground beef and added 1 tablespoon brown sugar, and 2 tablespoons cocoa powder. Everything else the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEANEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Excellent recipe. Didn't have any tequila, but it still turned out great. Added some brown sugar to cut back on the acidity, helps with heart burn. No leftovers. Will be making it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Great with a bag of dried kidney beans. Added 2 Tablespoons of Cocoa powder to deepen the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
This recipe is AMAZING!!! I've made it quite a few times and tried adding extras such as fresh jalapenos and bell peppers but no matter what it's always a huge hit... even won a chili cook-off at work with it! My fiance is a big hunter and there always seems to be an abundance of ground venison in our freezer so this is an great way to use it up... with some tortilla chips on game day... YUMM!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This recipe was very good. I pretty much followed it as written but did make the following changes: 1. I used fresh jalapeno instead of red pepper flakes and sauteed them with the onion & celery. 2. I added more chili powder, plus used cumin, coriander, and cayenne pepper. 3. I omitted the orange juice. Other reviewers have said that this lends a nice flavor but I don't think orange juice has any place in chili. The end result was quite tasty. I didn't even need to add sour cream to my bowl (a chili staple). In fact, the sour cream ruined it for me which is testimony to how tasty this chili is on its own. My only complaint is that it was too runny. Next time, I will pull back on the sauce or add more meat. Otherwise, this is definitely a keeper and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Great recipe! I tweaked it a little bit by adding a couple of bell peppers, a can of corn, a tsp of cumin and a tsp of cayenne pepper. I also had some fresh parsley that needed to be used up, so I tossed some of that in as well. The tequila definitely adds some kick, and the OJ gives a bit of sweetness. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CheeseBaby
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
DELICIOUS CHILI! I didn't have any venison so I substituted with beef. It was amazing! The tequila definitely set it off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CheeseBaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Davison, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Family and Friends LOVE this recipe!!! Growing up my moms chili was awful LOL. So, in searce for a good recipe I found this and since everyone in the family is big on hunting we always have ground deer. I don't always have Tequila on hand but, even without it's still amazing!!!! I prefer 2 cans sauce and 1 can dices tomatos instead either way it'sDefinatly Five star rating!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alligator Chili

What's cooking in Mendham, N.J.? Doug's chili, with a little bite.

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States