Venison Tequila Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
i was skeptical at first, and didnt want to waste 3 lbs of ground venison. turned out pretty good. no leftovers at all when my old man and his buddy came over. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
The is a FANTASTIC venison chili recipe!! I made some changes, but LOVED how it turned out. Used one white onion, 3 stalks of celery, a fresh serrano pepper minced (with seeds left in tact), a green pepper, added dried: cilantro, thyme, oregano, paprika, garlic granules, a dash of cinnamon, salt & pepper. I also used a small amount of agave syrup to mellow out the tomato acidity. Then I added 2 cans of diced tomatoes, a can of tomato paste & sauce & a can of chicken broth. For the beans I used 2 cans of great northern white beans, drained. I omitted the o.j., but we LOVED the addition of the tequila!! It's subtle, but you can taste it in the background -- yummy!!! Thanks for posting this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
Loved it! I used 'chili ready' tomatoes and crushed tomatoes. Also, I always dump into my chili a combination of whatever beans I have in the pantry. So, I used Great Northern beans and Black Beans. I am not a big venison fan, but have two hunters in my home. This is one venison recipe I can enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MONI603
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Very hearty and delicious! I agree with the person who was worried about the 1/4 cup of chili powder but it worked very well. I added one jalapeno pepper and one serrano pepper for some heat but I could have added more as just those two only spiced it up a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poplar Bluff, Missouri, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Good. I made this in the crockpot. I browned the beef with the onions, then added that along with the remainder of the ingredients to the crockpot. Also, I omitted the OJ because we didn't have any. Next time, I will add some chopped green bell pepper. Served with Beer Bread I from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I followed this recipe exactly except I only had 2 lbs of venison & I think my hubby used a heavy hand when adding the tequila because the taste was strong...too strong. It burnt my throat going down! I finally added the other chili I had made for a group of kids that were coming over...then it was perfect, so I wonder if mis measured. (We had to borrow tequila from a friend cuz I am more of a martini kind of girl!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANER60

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
It was very tasty. We made it to specifications just to try it. My husband loved it. I even forgot to top it with cheese. Next time, because I like to experiment, I'll probably add some green peppers and top with sour cream and grated cheese. I think the tequila and the orange juice really do add something. Very nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Not a huge fan of venision but we had some given to us so I mixed it with beef and made this recipe. Great with some cayenne pepper and jalapenos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrystalCooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collingwood, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Husband and daughter loved this recipe! Didn't have any tequila on hand so I put a splash of whiskey in. They said the flavor was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Fell into some ground venison and looked up this recipe and was astounded at how tasty it was. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Alligator Chili

What's cooking in Mendham, N.J.? Doug's chili, with a little bite.

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States