Venison Tenderloin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Followed exact recipe. Other cuts from same deer were wonderful. Threw this out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
wow-- i really dont like writing reviews but when i find a recipe as good as this i have to let people know. thanx for a great lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
All I could taste was vinegar and the recipe said med rare is best but listed 165 degree as the internal temp. vinegar completely overwhelmed the palate. I suggest people use the rub wrapped with bacon recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
I am reviewing this based on my husbands ratings as I don't care for deer meat. He thought this marinade was a good one and it produced a very tender tenderloin. He slowly grilled it rather than roasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I just have to say, my husband hunts in the Northern part of BC adn our deer is NEVER gamey. We do not soak in milk, or ice it or do anything else. At it eats whatever is out there. If it is properly field dressed and hung, and you handle the meat carefully during the butchering process there is no need to do anything else. No one should be hunting during the rut. Ew. This recipe works wonderfully just the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
I think it tastes better with apple cider not apple cider vinegar. I used the vinegar and it was if I pickled the meat. I then found out my friend used apple CIDER and that is why it was awesome...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
This recipie workes really well for our dinner party. We did make a few mods: Based on other reviews we cut the vinigar by half. I don't think you can over marinate venison, we did 36 hours, but I wish we would have done 48. I did sear before roasting, but because of the great variation in the sizes of ternderloins keep a close eye on the thermometer. Definately strain the reduction and add 2TBS flour first stired in some 1/2c hot water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Vinegar and wine flavor was too strong. Not a hit for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I have mixed reviews of this recipe. I had to make a change in cooking method. When I thawed my tenderloin I realized it was sliced into inch thick medallions. I chose to grill the meat instead of roasting as a result. The meat was relatively tender, but still had a more gamey taste than I've had with other marinades I've used with venison. The flavor of the wine was very predominant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
The vinegar overpowers the venison. I'd recommend a shorter marinade or less vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make this sweet, tasty, grilled pork tenderloin.

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States