Venison Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
My husband loved this! I unfortunately could not eat it as I had to be on a totally fat free diet and did not have fat free soup or sour cream in the house. I'm looking forward to trying it myself in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
This is a wonderful change for venison. I am always looking for good venison recipes and this is definately a keeper. I wasn't sure if the meat would be tender enough so I cooked and extra ten minutes and it was extremely tender. I do think 2 cans of soup is a bit much so I will use 1 next time. Otherwise this is terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Howard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
I loved this recipe! It is simple and easy to make...which is right up my alley! Plus, it was delicious and my family loved it! I even forgot to add the sour cream and it tasted great! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
Absolutely unbelievable recipe! The venison tastes like beef in this recipe. Very good for a special dinner. I served with a salad and cheesecake. big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
Here are the changes I made: I used t 8 oz packages of seitan that I had simmered in 3 cups of water and 4 teaspoons of vegetarian beef flavored granules instead of the venison. I sliced 6 largish mushrooms I had in the fridge and added 2 4 oz czns (drained) of mushroom ends and pieces. I also added about 8 oz of water and a couple of ounces of dry vermouth. I also used whole wheat noodles. My vegetarian family just loved this, and I will definitely make it again, as there are very few good seitan recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brownleg

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
I made this for my family and everyone absolutely loved it! My picky dad gave it 10 stars! Instead of using canned mushroom soup, i made my own using the Cream of Mushroom Soup I recipe from this site and used 21 oz of it. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
i didn't have 2 cans of cream of mushroom so i used 1 each cream of mushroom and one of cream of celery. also thought mixture was thick and wasn't sure if i should add water so i added a can of h2o also. the end result was still excellent, and will definitely be used again with what ever meat is on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
I'm an avid hunter and have been making a version of this recipe for years. I like to lightly dust venison backstraps medallions (1/4" thick) in flour, then follow the recipe as is. I also do add a touch of dry sherry during the browning process to really give it a kick. Delicious and heathly meal. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
Excellent recipe. I usually have a venison roast in the freezer that works great with this recipe. =Dave
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPOILERDAVE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brentwood, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
We have an abundance of Elk burger and I used it for this recipe. I really liked it and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States