Venison Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
I'm an avid hunter and have been making a version of this recipe for years. I like to lightly dust venison backstraps medallions (1/4" thick) in flour, then follow the recipe as is. I also do add a touch of dry sherry during the browning process to really give it a kick. Delicious and heathly meal. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2002
I'm always looking for something new for all that deer meat my husband brings home...this was very good. I served it over mini penne pasta. The only thing I might do differently is used reduced sodium soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
With a few changes this recipe is wonderful! I used 'golden mushroom soup' instead of other (it makes a big difference), two heaping spoonfuls of sour cream 30 min before serving instead of other, and a can of sliced mushrooms all in the crock pot. Kept other stuff the same. Excellent over wide egg noodles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
Neither my husband or I liked this recipe. It did nothing for the venison taste plus the cream of mushroom taste was very overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I too have made a similar recipe for years. It's a great hit with everyone I have served it to. (Even those that insist they DON'T LIKE VENISON!) I serve mine over baked potatoes, after cooking all day in the slow cooker, the meat is so tender it practically falls apart. Awesome recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Graham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Love using our venison anyway I can. I also added a bunch of mushrooms, sauteing them with the onions and fresh garlic first. Then browned the meat (dusted with flour and paprika). Put all of that with the soup and about a 1/4 cup of sherry in the crockpot. Finished it with 1/4 cup sour cream just before serving. Voila! It was soooo tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2001
Wonderful meal! My husband loved it and the girls actually liked the deer meat in it! A very good way to dress up venison!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I made this recipe because we were all out of food (except for venison) and snowed in...I was skeptical about venison stroganoff simply because my husband is bery picky when it comes to venison. I have only found 3 different ways he actually likes it prepared. Now I am up to 4 thanks to this recipe! He LOVED it. Now I know more than 3 recipes, that freezer filled with venison won't go to waste! Oh and the kids ate it up as well....my son was surprised that it was venison! Take that picky eaters!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This was good, albiet very rich. I like another reviewer's suggestion of adding sherry during browning and I may try this next time (simmering the venison in the sherry for a little while). This may help the meat to soften up (ours was a little tough) and lose some of the gaminess that really came through in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Husband and son thought this dinner was wonderful. I browned the meat and onions on the stovetop and then put the mixture in the crock-pot. Since we are not mushroom people, I only added 1 can of COM soup and added 1 can of CO Celery soup. Worked wonderfully (so I'm told), as I don't care for venison. I served over hot white rice as that is how my family likes stroganoff along with steamed broccoli. Cathy they loved this recipe and asked that I make it again sometime. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States