Venison Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Very good recipe. I'm not crazy about deer, but my husband loves it and we always have some in the freezer. This receipe was so easy. I didn't even bother with sauteing the onions or browning the meet. I put it all in the slower cooker and went from there. We told the kids it was beef and they couldn't tell the difference. I didn't have egg noodles and used white rice instead. It worked out perfectly. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Stanton, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I too have made a similar recipe for years. It's a great hit with everyone I have served it to. (Even those that insist they DON'T LIKE VENISON!) I serve mine over baked potatoes, after cooking all day in the slow cooker, the meat is so tender it practically falls apart. Awesome recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Graham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
This recipe was very easy to make. I added some paprika and used cream of mushroom roasted garlic soup instead of the regular soup. Everyone loved the taste. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dinez
Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
We have an abundance of Elk burger and I used it for this recipe. I really liked it and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I liked it. I used low fat sour cream and soup so it wasn't the full flavor, but I still liked it. My husband didn't like the sauce though. Keep in mind, he's hard to please.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
With a few changes this recipe is wonderful! I used 'golden mushroom soup' instead of other (it makes a big difference), two heaping spoonfuls of sour cream 30 min before serving instead of other, and a can of sliced mushrooms all in the crock pot. Kept other stuff the same. Excellent over wide egg noodles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
This was very good. Everyone went back for seconds. This will be a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
Excellent recipe. I usually have a venison roast in the freezer that works great with this recipe. =Dave
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPOILERDAVE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brentwood, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
I'm an avid hunter and have been making a version of this recipe for years. I like to lightly dust venison backstraps medallions (1/4" thick) in flour, then follow the recipe as is. I also do add a touch of dry sherry during the browning process to really give it a kick. Delicious and heathly meal. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
i didn't have 2 cans of cream of mushroom so i used 1 each cream of mushroom and one of cream of celery. also thought mixture was thick and wasn't sure if i should add water so i added a can of h2o also. the end result was still excellent, and will definitely be used again with what ever meat is on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beverly Peck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States