Venison Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
This recipe was very easy to make. I added some paprika and used cream of mushroom roasted garlic soup instead of the regular soup. Everyone loved the taste. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dinez
Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
We have an abundance of Elk burger and I used it for this recipe. I really liked it and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I liked it. I used low fat sour cream and soup so it wasn't the full flavor, but I still liked it. My husband didn't like the sauce though. Keep in mind, he's hard to please.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
With a few changes this recipe is wonderful! I used 'golden mushroom soup' instead of other (it makes a big difference), two heaping spoonfuls of sour cream 30 min before serving instead of other, and a can of sliced mushrooms all in the crock pot. Kept other stuff the same. Excellent over wide egg noodles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
This was very good. Everyone went back for seconds. This will be a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
Excellent recipe. I usually have a venison roast in the freezer that works great with this recipe. =Dave
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPOILERDAVE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brentwood, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
I'm an avid hunter and have been making a version of this recipe for years. I like to lightly dust venison backstraps medallions (1/4" thick) in flour, then follow the recipe as is. I also do add a touch of dry sherry during the browning process to really give it a kick. Delicious and heathly meal. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
i didn't have 2 cans of cream of mushroom so i used 1 each cream of mushroom and one of cream of celery. also thought mixture was thick and wasn't sure if i should add water so i added a can of h2o also. the end result was still excellent, and will definitely be used again with what ever meat is on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beverly Peck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
I made this for my family and everyone absolutely loved it! My picky dad gave it 10 stars! Instead of using canned mushroom soup, i made my own using the Cream of Mushroom Soup I recipe from this site and used 21 oz of it. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
Here are the changes I made: I used t 8 oz packages of seitan that I had simmered in 3 cups of water and 4 teaspoons of vegetarian beef flavored granules instead of the venison. I sliced 6 largish mushrooms I had in the fridge and added 2 4 oz czns (drained) of mushroom ends and pieces. I also added about 8 oz of water and a couple of ounces of dry vermouth. I also used whole wheat noodles. My vegetarian family just loved this, and I will definitely make it again, as there are very few good seitan recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brownleg

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States