Venison Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
made this the way the recipe said the first time and I don't think I will do that again. All in all it was good and even my picky eater ate it but it needs something a little more. I I think that I will use only one can of soup and try roasted garlic and mushroom soup instead. I will also add a can of peas & mushrooms each. I will also try it in the crock pot instead of on the stove as the meat came out really tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Great, easy recipe. Made this with canned dear meat so the whole thing took about 15 minutes total. Didn't have sour cream or egg noodles - served it over rice instead and it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
I have been making this same dish, thought mine was the only one, only I add Laury's Seasoning Salt to my venison while I am cooking it and sliced or canned mushrooms. Since I am lactose intolerant I don't add the sour cream! This is also really good with hamburger if you do not like venison!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cadott, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wabasha, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Great. Didn't even taste gamey. Will make again when we have venison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pritty1npink

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
This was my first time cooking Venison. My husband's golf buddy brought him some from his hunting expedition. I was very reluctant about cooking it because I heard that after preparing the meat would taste "gamey". I looked around online and found out that soaking the meat at least 8 hours ahead of time would help get rid of the gamey taste. I let the meat soak in milk in the fridge the night before. I followed the recipe and everything turned out great! Me being me, I just added a bit more seasonings. Everybody loved it and can't wait for me to cook it again. Thanks for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
I received a rear roast of venison a family friend brought down in Wis. I made this recipe because I LOVE stroganoff & I had a surplus of cream of mush. soup & portabella shrooms Y-U-U-U-M. The ONLY difference is I did not drain the broth made from browning...I used fresh minced garlic and yummy vidalia onion. THANK YOU! I got rave reviews from my boyfriend and his friend! I will definately be using this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsweetburn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Tom loved this. I added some sliced mushrooms to the chopped onions and sauted in olive oil and then set aside. I floured the meat, sauted it in oil and added seasoning while it was frying. Tom bought creamy portabello soup and when it was added to the pan with the rest of the ingredients, the flour thickened it up nicely. Added a little sour cream and voila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Very good recipe. I'm not crazy about deer, but my husband loves it and we always have some in the freezer. This receipe was so easy. I didn't even bother with sauteing the onions or browning the meet. I put it all in the slower cooker and went from there. We told the kids it was beef and they couldn't tell the difference. I didn't have egg noodles and used white rice instead. It worked out perfectly. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Stanton, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I too have made a similar recipe for years. It's a great hit with everyone I have served it to. (Even those that insist they DON'T LIKE VENISON!) I serve mine over baked potatoes, after cooking all day in the slow cooker, the meat is so tender it practically falls apart. Awesome recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Graham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
This recipe was very easy to make. I added some paprika and used cream of mushroom roasted garlic soup instead of the regular soup. Everyone loved the taste. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dinez
Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States