Venison Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
This was excellent! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieBug

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
I would make this recipe again but with modifications. I would not use any onion made onion powder and I would add milk to the soup to thin it a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I made this recipe because we were all out of food (except for venison) and snowed in...I was skeptical about venison stroganoff simply because my husband is bery picky when it comes to venison. I have only found 3 different ways he actually likes it prepared. Now I am up to 4 thanks to this recipe! He LOVED it. Now I know more than 3 recipes, that freezer filled with venison won't go to waste! Oh and the kids ate it up as well....my son was surprised that it was venison! Take that picky eaters!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Turned out really good. Will make again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This was good, albiet very rich. I like another reviewer's suggestion of adding sherry during browning and I may try this next time (simmering the venison in the sherry for a little while). This may help the meat to soften up (ours was a little tough) and lose some of the gaminess that really came through in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Love using our venison anyway I can. I also added a bunch of mushrooms, sauteing them with the onions and fresh garlic first. Then browned the meat (dusted with flour and paprika). Put all of that with the soup and about a 1/4 cup of sherry in the crockpot. Finished it with 1/4 cup sour cream just before serving. Voila! It was soooo tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I wasn't all that impressed with this but was partly my fault. The venison was cooked perfectly and then I let it cook a few minutes longer and it got pretty tough. I thought the sauce was pretty bland so I cooked in a little red wine, Worstershire and then even a little Chulula for a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
made this the way the recipe said the first time and I don't think I will do that again. All in all it was good and even my picky eater ate it but it needs something a little more. I I think that I will use only one can of soup and try roasted garlic and mushroom soup instead. I will also add a can of peas & mushrooms each. I will also try it in the crock pot instead of on the stove as the meat came out really tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Great, easy recipe. Made this with canned dear meat so the whole thing took about 15 minutes total. Didn't have sour cream or egg noodles - served it over rice instead and it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
I have been making this same dish, thought mine was the only one, only I add Laury's Seasoning Salt to my venison while I am cooking it and sliced or canned mushrooms. Since I am lactose intolerant I don't add the sour cream! This is also really good with hamburger if you do not like venison!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cadott, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wabasha, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States