Venison Stew I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Oh my goodness. I frequent this site a lot. I use the recipes a lot. But I have never left a review. This recipe was so delicious it prompted me to make a profile so I could review it! First off, venison is so tough and mildly gamey tasting. So, I have never been thrilled when my husband cooks it. It was always so tough and gummy. I felt like I would never chew it enough to swallow it. I thought it would be great to slow cook this type of meat to help tenderize it. I ran across this recipe and boy were we surprisingly impressed. I didn't change a thing in the recipe. I cooked it for 2 hours, added the carrots and tatoes and cooked it until they were tender. Then I served it over mashed potatoes. This was so good I wish my mouth was bigger. Try this, you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
377 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
This stew was delicious! I did let it cook practically all afternoon before adding the veggies - in order to make the deer meat extremely tender. I also added more vegetables (corn, green beans, etc.) This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
196 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
We were trying to use up some of our stored venison and came across this recipe. It was wonderful! Even our neighbor who said she hated venison liked this stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paige B
Home Town: Coshocton, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
For people who don't hunt. Would not know that you must soak your venison in cold water to get the blood out of the meat. That is what causes the gamey taste. We process our own deers and the quarters are soaking while I am processing other parts of the meat. Try it sometime, you will never know it was venison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
I found this a very good way to use up the tougher cuts of meat on a deer. I used brown gravy mix in place of the flour to make a more robust stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
This was excellent! I was out of potatoes so I cooked it without and served the stew over egg noodles. Very flavorful and tender! I will definitely save this recipe for the next time we get some venison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
This was the WORST recipe I have found on this webpage thus far. My husband and I couldn't make it past the gamey taste (and smell)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
LOVED IT!!! I don't understand why people rate low because you can "still taste the deer" If you don't like wild meat, don't eat it! doesn't mean the recipe was gross! I ran out of worcestershire so i made a substitution with soya/hot sauce combo (yes this is a valid sub!) I also didn't have oregano and substituted it for italian seasoning instead. I seasoned my meat with garlic powder, seasoning salt and roasted red pepper flakes and browned it with the onions in a frying pan. I then put it all in a roaster and cooked it in the oven for an hour at 425. I cut my potatoes smaller as a personal preference and added the potatoes and carrots and popped it back in the oven for another half hour. This was an excellent recipe! The flavour is perfect,and the meat is extremely tender. Love it! will definitely make this again and again! thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Proud Canadian Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
This was delicious! It was not at all gamey. It had wonderful flavor and could have easily passed for beef stew. I did not add oregano but I doubled the garlic. Thanks for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
This is a great stew and easy to make. I took the advice of the other reviewers and used 3 cups beef stock and 1 cup red wine. I also added 1 8 oz can of tomato sauce, I usually add that to my beef stew. everyone loved it! I married into a big hunting family and my freezer is stocked with venison, this is a great meal! will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States