Venison Stew I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Delicious! Didn't have Worchestershire suace, so had to sub. fish sauce. Was VERY yummy. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Made this using pronghorn (antelope) instead of venison. Also had an open container of beef stock and used three cups of that instead of water. I am hesitant to rate with a superlative but it was excellent. I can think of and will try several variations: chicken stock instead of water; thyme or fresh rosemary instead of oregano; adding celery and/or quartered onions with the other veggies (I see v2 has done some of those things.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
excellent over a bed of wild rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Properly handled and prepared venison should never taste excessively gamey. I used this recipe with a deer I harvested last season and it was excellent. Instead of a skillet I used a slow cooker and cooked it for several hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This was great! It turned out very tastey. I didn't think it would have much flavor because it doesn't call for much spice but I was pleasantly surprised. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
So tastey! The venison was tender and tasted perfect. I did not add potatoes to the mix but rather put the stew over mashed potatoes. It's a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
The guys really enjoyed this dish. Hubby had alot of deer meat and I came across this recipe. Will use this recipe again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen McCleane Mullin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
We liked this stew very well, but I'm mystified as to why no one has mentioned the obvious problem with adding 1 Tablespoon of salt to a stew with only 3 cups of liquid; that's a teaspoon of salt per cup plus whatever salt is in the Worcestershire sauce!!!! Yikes! I assumed it was a typo and added just 1 teaspoon. I also used 4 cups of beef broth and 1 cup of water to increase the liquid. Adding a stalk of chopped celery with the onions and a can of green beans with the veggies added even more flavor. Overall, a delicious winter stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Peter, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mosheim, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This was absolutely delicious! No gamey taste to it. I used cornstarch to thicken then liquid at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Really great recipe, really tenderized the deer meat.YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nishnick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States