Venison Stew I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I think it's sad someone gave this zero stars because THEY don't like venison flavor. As a VENISON stew (which is gamey, come on folks) it was excellent! Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I added about a tablespoon each of Thyme and Rosemary in addition to the Bay leaf (I used about a tablespoon of dried bay leaves). I increased the water from 3 cups to 6 cups which meant I doubled the flour and water to thicken it. I also added 3 cans of drained corn, lima beans and peas. This recipe is awesome. My mom even loved it and she is really picky about deer meat. Said there was no gamey taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Made a couple small changes, added a touch of Chili Powder to the spice mix as well as diced tomatoes. Less water because of the liquid in the Tomatoes and it was Delich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Hopkinton, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
excellent. we both loved it. will use beef stock instead of water next time but great the way its written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELBABY33

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Perfect recipe I really enjoyed my stew ... Great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
This recipe is AWESOME! I am in the process of cooking it now in the crock pot. I haven't even put in the potatoes & carrots & it already tastes delicious! Thank you for sharing this recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This was really good. I made minor changes: I marinaded the meat for a few hours first; beef stock instead of water and salt; used less onion; added celery and mushrooms; Italian season instead of oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
For people who don't hunt. Would not know that you must soak your venison in cold water to get the blood out of the meat. That is what causes the gamey taste. We process our own deers and the quarters are soaking while I am processing other parts of the meat. Try it sometime, you will never know it was venison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
The stew was fantastic, however 3 cups of liquid does not make a stew. In fact I checked my meat and onions at 1 hour and the water had all simmered out. Next time I will use 4 cups of water and 2 cans of beef or chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Wonderful full flavor. Not gamey and very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States