Venison Stew I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I never leave reviews but I had to leave this one because it was excellent. I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Worth more than 5 stars!! I followed exact save 1 onion, and this was so tender and GREAT! Maybe helps having fresh deer? Killing and dressing correctly also makes a world of difference in taste. This is a repeat recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaMF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coudersport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Boyertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
This was a very tasty stew. I received some venison stew meat( 330 Grams) from a friend and had no idea how to make it. Followed the recipe almost to a T, but halved the recipe and exchanged some of the potato for turnip cubed, added about a teaspoon of 'better than bullion', sauteed the meat, oil and, onions and garlic together. Then I put 2 1/2 cups water and let it simmer on low for almost 3 hours while we were at church. It was so tasty and not gamey at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by <3tocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayzata, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Cooked venison for the first time using this recipe with a few altercations after reading reviews.. Such as adding beef broth, gravy mix, and more veggies. It's very flavorful and delicious. Oh, and I soaked the meat in water before cooking and it does take away the gaming taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Ok, this recipe is great but there are a few points. I used SHANK meat from a young buck about 2 years old (this is the calf or rear foreleg) for boiling stew meat as this seems to make the best stew, this is meat you would ordinarily throw into the grind pile, considered "tough" with lots of connective tissue. but it works great when cubed, browned, and boiled. I also substituted brown gravy mix packet instead of flour and added an extra 1/4 cup of water and lots of garlic. Great recipe and my wife and kids gobbled it up with a big helping of cornbread!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
This recipe was very good but for me needed something extra. Going to play around with it till I get it to where I like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by uhiggs

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blanco, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Wow - finally a venison stew I enjoyed (and I actually like venison!) Followed recipe as written except I added chopped fresh parsley and oregano at the end to a add a bit of freshness to it. My husband loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lafayette, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Excellent recipe! I added about 1/2 cup red wine while it was simmering, and it came out wonderfully. My wife actually believed she was eating beef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Arbutus, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
very good! needed inspiration to cook up my venison roast meat, this was it. as other reviewers mentioned, used gravy mix instead of flour. and added 1 can tomato sauce. the taste was excellent and prep very easy. will make again for sure! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
I was looking for a venison stew recipe and this one was a winner. I didn't have any potatoes so I used celery instead and served it over gnocci. My kids went back for seconds and my hubby asked when we were going to have this again while he was still eating. Next time I think I am going to cut back on the salt and add some pepper to the meat as it browns. I liked the addition of the celery and will probably double the oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States