Venison Stew I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I have been trying different recipes for cooking deer for 4 years. My husband is an avid hunter and loves venison. I've found the winner! He asked me how I made it because he has never in his life had it any tastier. He said it was perfect! I'm so happy to know I finally found "the one". I didn't make a stew though I just cooked exactly as written minus adding veggies but used onion with the meat. He prefers it this way rather than a stew. I usually slow cook a roast. I wonder if this recipe could be adapted for a roast? I'll try it next time. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WahiniSuzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haiku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
This was excellent, hearty and full-flavored. I followed the recipe exactly except that I added about 1 tsp. chilli powder and 1/2 tsp. ground black pepper for a little more kick. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I didn't have any worcestershire sauce so I skipped it and it still turned out great! I used vegetable bullion mixed with the water for some added flavor and ended up using more water than the recipe called for (although I think I also had more than 2lbs of meat). Overall excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sismis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I have meant to leave a review but kept forgetting! This is delish! I only usually like ground venison and breakfast sausage. I read the reviews and soaked in milk sometimes up to an hour but not always that long. I have made this several times, shared the recipes with others who all loved it. Sue
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
This was so easy and had a great result. I followed the directions except for the water which I replaced with Campbell's beef stock. I also rolled the meat in flour before browning to make a gravy easier to make. The meat simply melted and had a lovely rich flavour. I will make this one of my favourite recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waitakere , Auckland, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I followed the excellent suggestion to soak the meat in milk, used beef broth and red wine in place of water, and added celery. Also added some dried shiitakes with the water they were soaked in. The result tasted more like a good beef stew than venison - not at all gamey. Served with crusty bread. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
This is a great stew. Most of what I hear about venison being gamey is the fact of where your deer come from and what they eat. Here in the middle of Wisconsin are deer are grass and corn fed like cattle and taste just great. The northern deer eat acorn and whatever and taste very gamey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I made this in the crockpot for 4 hours on high with buck steaks. I rinsed the buck steaks in cold water before starting and added all ingredients to the pot after browning the meat in a skillet with onion and garlic. I only had 1 onion (added some onion flakes), 2 potatoes, and added celery. Very good, not gamey, tender meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjwellscvt

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This is the best recipe I have ever found, SUPER EASY, takes few ours of summering but the flavor is so great. In from Wisconsin so this is perfect for our cold nights/days. This will forever be being passed down in my family :-)) thanks allrecipes !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MegO21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Verona, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This recipe was awesome!! Made this a few times so far and it's been fantastic every time!! The "gamey" taste never bothered me but for those not used to it the milk bath makes a big difference. This stew in the Italian bread bowls is perfect in the fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paulyman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States