Venison Stew I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
This was so easy and had a great result. I followed the directions except for the water which I replaced with Campbell's beef stock. I also rolled the meat in flour before browning to make a gravy easier to make. The meat simply melted and had a lovely rich flavour. I will make this one of my favourite recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waitakere , Auckland, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I followed the excellent suggestion to soak the meat in milk, used beef broth and red wine in place of water, and added celery. Also added some dried shiitakes with the water they were soaked in. The result tasted more like a good beef stew than venison - not at all gamey. Served with crusty bread. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
This is a great stew. Most of what I hear about venison being gamey is the fact of where your deer come from and what they eat. Here in the middle of Wisconsin are deer are grass and corn fed like cattle and taste just great. The northern deer eat acorn and whatever and taste very gamey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I made this in the crockpot for 4 hours on high with buck steaks. I rinsed the buck steaks in cold water before starting and added all ingredients to the pot after browning the meat in a skillet with onion and garlic. I only had 1 onion (added some onion flakes), 2 potatoes, and added celery. Very good, not gamey, tender meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjwellscvt

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This is the best recipe I have ever found, SUPER EASY, takes few ours of summering but the flavor is so great. In from Wisconsin so this is perfect for our cold nights/days. This will forever be being passed down in my family :-)) thanks allrecipes !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MegO21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Verona, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This recipe was awesome!! Made this a few times so far and it's been fantastic every time!! The "gamey" taste never bothered me but for those not used to it the milk bath makes a big difference. This stew in the Italian bread bowls is perfect in the fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paulyman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
My husband loved this! I put this in the crock pot after browning the meat and and onions, and cooked on high for 1 hour and low for 5 hours. I added the carrots and potatoes after after 3 hours, and thickened with water and cornstarch about an hour before serving. I also substituted a can of beef broth, a half cup of burgundy wine and a half cup of water for the initial 3 cups of water. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Shuntich McCreary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vienna, Ohio, USA
Living In: Poland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This was delicious! I followed the recipe exactly except I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil. It's just my personal preference. I will definitely make this again! Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
i am surprised when people complain about the recipe retaining the gameiness of the vension. Excuse me, I believe we're cooking venison here! Anyway, I used this recipe with a bit of my own addition such as red wine and it was delicious. To be perfectly honest, I am afraid the gameiness was cooked out too much. The reason I like venison is the gamey taste. The recipe was easy and I think the results were excellent. I don't think of venison as a cheap meat I get from my hunter friends that I try to make taste like beef. I enjoy it as its own meat with its own characteristics! VENISON! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dennis Louie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
My boyfriend is a hunter and got a deer this fall. Having never cooked venison before, I went online to look for recipes to cook the massive amounts of deer meat we have in our freezer. This recipe is AMAZING! It did not taste gamey at all, was very tender, and flavorful. I will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States