Venison Stew I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This is the best recipe I have ever found, SUPER EASY, takes few ours of summering but the flavor is so great. In from Wisconsin so this is perfect for our cold nights/days. This will forever be being passed down in my family :-)) thanks allrecipes !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MegO21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Verona, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This recipe was awesome!! Made this a few times so far and it's been fantastic every time!! The "gamey" taste never bothered me but for those not used to it the milk bath makes a big difference. This stew in the Italian bread bowls is perfect in the fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paulyman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
My husband loved this! I put this in the crock pot after browning the meat and and onions, and cooked on high for 1 hour and low for 5 hours. I added the carrots and potatoes after after 3 hours, and thickened with water and cornstarch about an hour before serving. I also substituted a can of beef broth, a half cup of burgundy wine and a half cup of water for the initial 3 cups of water. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vienna, Ohio, USA
Living In: Poland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This was delicious! I followed the recipe exactly except I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil. It's just my personal preference. I will definitely make this again! Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
i am surprised when people complain about the recipe retaining the gameiness of the vension. Excuse me, I believe we're cooking venison here! Anyway, I used this recipe with a bit of my own addition such as red wine and it was delicious. To be perfectly honest, I am afraid the gameiness was cooked out too much. The reason I like venison is the gamey taste. The recipe was easy and I think the results were excellent. I don't think of venison as a cheap meat I get from my hunter friends that I try to make taste like beef. I enjoy it as its own meat with its own characteristics! VENISON! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
My boyfriend is a hunter and got a deer this fall. Having never cooked venison before, I went online to look for recipes to cook the massive amounts of deer meat we have in our freezer. This recipe is AMAZING! It did not taste gamey at all, was very tender, and flavorful. I will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
I didn't have time to do any of the prep work...just dumped the ingredients (minus oil and flour) into the crockpot and set it to cook on high for 2 hours and then low for 4-6. Decided not to add flour at the end and it turned out great. Super easy and filling. Venison was so tender and didn't taste gamey at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Sooo good! The only things I changed were using beer in place of half the water and added a can of diced tomatoes. Best stew we've ever had and hubby loved it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
My family really loved this! I used ground venison because that is what we had and I doubled the recipe. I left out the flour and used 3 brown gravy seasoning packets instead. It was about the best stew I have ever had! Thanks for posting this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
I love venison and have made stew many times. The secret to removing the gamey taste of venison is to brown it in a little vinegar. Also, it does depend on where the deer is shot (location). Plains deer have a less gamey taste than mountain deer that eat pine needles. It takes a little while to get used to venison, but now that I have, I'll never go back to eating beef. LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States