Venison Stew I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Holy Moly, this was good! First time attempting to cook venison and I am glad I picked this recipe. I took the suggestions of others and browned the meat with brown gravy mix used in place of flour. I also used beef broth instead of water and added a splash of red wine (which I usually will do when cooking with beef broth). My husband raved about it! He took it to work for lunch and shared some with his crew, they were also floored! Will make again, trying with beef as well. Thanks you Buchko!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dev

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niceville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
those that complain about gamey taste should shoot better deer. We cut up our deer, not a gamey smell at all. We'd had one another time and the smell was awful. Soaking it in milk will remove the gamey taste if you need to. For those of us that shoot deer that's not gamey, we don't need to do this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hunlock Creek, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Very good! Added a few personal items which I use in stew. Venison was very tender, almost like beef! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darrol J. Unruh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buhler, Kansas, USA
Living In: Fredericktown, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
wonderful recipe first one from this web site loved it added more water and veggies doubled good added a bit of fresh parsley from my garden added a great touch easy to add my own flare. sooo tender
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
i just tried this on a camping trip last weekend over an open fire in a dutch oven...UNREAL!! i didnt use the oregano or the bay leaf, though...after simmering the meat for 2 hrs, i added the vegetables,(added 3 handfuls of peas) then covered with water, cus i like the gravy like broth, and lots of it simmered 1 more hr...i also added a lil bit of beef base when i simmered the meat...beat dinty moore by FAR!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This is a great stew. As another reviewer suggested I tossed the meat in brown gravy mix before browning and also added celery and used cornstarch as the thickener in place of flour. Other than that I didn't change a thing. I let the meat simmer for a full two hours before adding the veggies then simmering another hour. The meat was very tender and not at all gamey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
This was quite good, except I felt the recipe lacked the correct amount of seasoning. Next time I will use beef broth instead of water. All in all it was quite tasty and I am excited to have another venison recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Tsuji

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
I took the advice of a few reviewers and came up with the perfect recipe for my family. I soaked the meat in milk for 10 minutes (this also helps make the meat tender), instead of 3 cups of water I used 2 cups of water and a can of beef stock, and instead of using flour I used brown gravy mix. Sometimes the carrots take longer, so I simmered for 1.5 hours, added the carrots, simmered for 30 minutes, then added the potatoes and simmered until the potatoes were tender. YUM! Can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JOANNAH
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Very Good! I added half a bottle of Raspberry Chilpoltle BBQ sauce...Yummmmmmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNAH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
I'm not a venison fan, but my father had given me some and I hate to waste food. I was pleasantly surprised. The stew was yummy. I only had 1 pound so halved everything but forgot to halve the liquid, so used 3 cups liquid (1 cup beef stock, the rest water) and used 2 T flour and 2 T brown gravy mix plus 1/4 cup water for thickener. Probably used a lot less salt than called for. Threw in some frozen cut green beans at the end
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States