Venison Steak with Peppers and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Gary L. Mace
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Very good. I am told I will be making this again. :) I skipped the sherry as I had none on hand. I also skipped the curing and steak seasoning as I do not like my dishes over salted. I prefer for everyone to salt to taste. I added more broth and soy sauce to substitute for the sherry. The venison was very tender and I think could have been passed off for beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gary L. Mace

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Excellent. Did not have meat tenderizer so used seasoned salt and a bit of sugar. Omitted extra salt. Kids all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommaof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Alicia Camper
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Yummy, added different colored peppers and one jalapeño for some zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Camper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jazrapp
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
This was an amazing recipe. Cleaning out some venison steaks which had slid to the back of the freezer, I used this marinade to soak the steaks for about six hours before cooking. The brine needed to be augmented in order to have enough for gravy but the whole thing went perfectly well over rice and served with a cupcake vineyards shiraz wine. I can see that this marinade will work equally well with chicken and beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This was really good, I didn't use the curing mixture, I used a dry white wine instead of sherry, and used a little flour for thickening instead of corn starch. The meat was really tender, I served it over pasta. My picky 2.5 year old ate it all and had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
GOOD BUT VERY SALTY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa1983

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I made this last night and no lie you can not tell its venison. My husband loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zmzuehls

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
We eat alot of venison and I marinate the meat in milk overnight. It helps to take the gamey taste out and it tenderizes at the same time!! This recipe sounds wonderful and I will be making it soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This is an awesome recipe for venison. I've cooked it several times now and my husband loves it. The only thing I would change is making more sauce and cutting back on the salt. The soy sauce makes up for the sodium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alpena, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
wow, made this double and can not believe how tender the steak came out. followed the recipe exactly, except added a clove of garlic and accidentally put in a mildly hot pepper that got mixed in with the bells that we planted last year and froze. the spice was perfect. The marinade made the steak so tender could cut it with a spoon. spooned the steak and sauce over some boiled potatoes and carrots and ummmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eleva, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States