Venison Salisbury Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Yum, didn't change a thing. There is no need to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I have not tried this recipe.. but to be fair I rated it 5 because it sounds delish! I did want to comment to those that find venison (or elk) meat gamey. I have been eating wild meat for years. My grandma taught me a trick she's used for years. She will either soak the meat overnight (or all day) in either milk or salted water. I use the salted water. The salt helps pull the blood out of the meat, and in turn eliminates most of the gamey taste. As the day goes on, empty the water, rinse, and add the more salted water. The milk works well too, but milk is a little expensive and it seems like such a waste! Best of luck using these techiniques!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monte Vista, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I rated this 5 stars because for the type of dish it is, it's really good. I made a couple of changes. I didn't have any crackers so I used whole wheat bread crumbs. I also used fresh mushrooms, which I think make it much better than canned mushrooms. The gravy was just the right consistancy. We served it with potatoes and sauteed beans. My hubby doesn't like venison, but we have a farm and let people hunt so they give us venison. He liked it fixed this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheesemaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Watkins Glen, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
deer was from indiana...egg was from the neighbor...Borrowed everything...but i ate it all! it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
Good flavor but kind of a mushy dish. Mine came out a little oily but meat tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
This recipe was loved by my whole family - even my wife who does not like the gamey taste. I did customize this recipe a bit though. 1. marinate in apple juice over night, turn once. 2. I added 1 sm.can diced tomatoes. 3. 1 can mushroom soup Be carefull when you place venison cubes into frying skillet, that there is room to turn them to brown, otherwise the breading will fall off. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Don

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
This was an excellent recipe, my family wouldn't quit raving about it. I used Elk, instead of venison, which my dad hunts every year. He, my step-mom, and husband all loved this dish. It's worth the effort that goes into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by domesticdiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hutchinson, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
I made a couple of changes (used seasoned bread crumbs instead of crackers and didn't use cornstarch at all), but this recipe was wonderful! I don't much care for the 'gamey' taste of deer, but have a freezer full of it to cook. This took out the gamey taste and was just great! I will definitely cook this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STRABERIWINE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
I made this for husband and he thought it wasn't bad. I used fresh mushrooms instead of canned. I also substituted canned beef broth. The sauce was good, but the meat didn't turn out as tender as I thought it would have from the other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2001
I liked the idea of coating the venison first -- tasted so good and was a hit with my husband! I usually just shake the meat in flour before cooking, but this was different. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Salisbury Steak

See how to make quick and easy Salisbury steak with a rich brown gravy.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States