Venison Pot Roast and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Very good. Cooked in the form of a 1/2-2lb roast, med rare, pulled it out of oven when meat thermometer reached 140 degrees. Perfect with the gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
This was fabulous! I have eaten venison all my life and this is by far my favorite recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Wow, we've been cooking venison for a few years. This is a great recipe!! I don't know what grill seasoning is, so i used salt and pepper with chilli. I had no garlic powder either. Otherwise I followed instructions as some of the reviews, I cooked it at a low temp in my wood stove for over two hours it was very tender and the gravy was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Hubby loved this recipe and it was really easy... the gravy turned out fabulous... I usually can't make gravy-- it was delicious and hunter hubby approved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Yum! I did my own thing to make the gravy and cooked it a bit longer just because I had the time. I like the idea of slicing it first...it cooks faster and the outside doesn't get overdone. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Yum! Made it as written. Used a Montreal steak seasoning mix. Stirred in the chili powder then the minced garlic. Put some on the bottom of a 9X9 pan, layered thin slices of venison and seasoning then poured on the broth. The gravy was very thick, added some water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty Rupp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
O.K. let me just say I dont like venison, but we get it given to us. I have tried it many ways but this works! I made it in the crock pot, left it whole, and smothered it with sliced onion along with the rest of the ingredients listed. I checked it every hour with a meat thermometer, because I didnt know how long to cook it and it took it out at 130. It was fabulous! Please give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hapygrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Wonderful Roast. I never liked venison but can't even tell it is venison with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
We love venison, so my husband gets a little upset when I mess it up. This recipe was soooooo good! The gravy was different, but went great with the roast and potatoes. I'm definitly adding this to my recipe book. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This was very good. My picky husband had seconds and said that I should really save this recipe. It was a bit dry but that might have been my fault. I didn't slice it as thin as I should have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Hochstein

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Oven Pot Roast

See how to make a simple pot roast baked with mushroom soup and vermouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States