Venison Pot Roast and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
I used a 3 lb deer roast in the crock pot for 8 hours. Browned the roast in olive oil, McCormick's Montreal Steak seasoning, chili powder, garlic and one chopped onion. I didn't have beef broth so I just added 1 cup water. Threw in potatoes, carrots and celery. Topped with the gravy. This was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
This might have been tender if it was cooked at a much lower temp for a longer period of time, but the venison (butchered and frozen for one month) was tough. Unfortunately I timed the balance of the meal to finish when the meat should have been done. There was too much gravy. It was tasty, but much too thick, but that was easily adjusted with more of the cooking broth. (Basically, for a gravy/sauce a roux of 1 Tbls. fat of choice and 1 Tbls. flour will thicken nicely @1 cup of liquid...just multiply all ingredients by the number of cups of gravy/sauce desired. Adjust the amount of liquid to your desired thickness.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Thank you for the easy preparation...this gave me the confidence I needed to make the venison that's sitting in my freezer! Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Made it according to the directions. It was nice and tender and slicing the venison thin before cooking made it easy to serve. My kids all loved it! It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
This was surprisingly delicious for how simple it is. It's excellent just as is, and can be improved upon with the addition of some hearty vegetables and or/beans. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This turned out amazing considering I was given venison roast and had NO idea how to cook it. I've heard many say it can be tough so I was leery about cooking it. I followed recipe, with exception of making my own grill seasoning. Rave reviews from all who ate it. They were impressed this city girl did not ruin their venison. Many thanks for amazing recipe. It was soo good my friend who gave me the venison said I'm on his list of who get the meat anytime he goes hunting ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
My first time making venison. I used a shoulder bone in roast. Had to cook longer but turned out GREAT!!!!! My son never had venison and he loved it, a picky eater ate every piece. Roast was big enough for 2 meals for just the two of us. Didn't put meat in gravy, but put gravy over mashed potatoes. Added green beans. All I could say is WOW!!! Brought in New Year right with something new. Fresh kill, soaked meat in salt water and vinegar for about an hour first. No gamey taste at all. Meat should still be med rare to rare when cut. A little blood is good. thanks for recipe. Definitely an instant favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
We eat a lot of wild game, venison included. Always looking for new and interesting ways to prepare. Many recipes are often too bland. This recipe has a rich full flavor that my family labeled, "definitely a keeper".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tomahawk, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mount Horeb, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
If I could rate it higher I would. This was EXCELLENT! My husband had seconds, no wait thirds. I used an Apple wood rub which already had chili powder in it, I also cut up some potatoes and added them to the casserole . Hubby kept saying how good it was, He is very picky on who and how his venison is done, and decided I can cook the venison any time. He also told me to say it was plate licking good. Thanks so much for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I used venison tenderloin and followed the recipe except for substituting olive oil for the butter. The flavour was excellent; the meat was tender in 50 minutes and the gravy was perfect. This is definitely a keeper. Thanks, Ron!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patches

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Oven Pot Roast

See how to make a simple pot roast baked with mushroom soup and vermouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States