Venison Pot Roast and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Yum! I did my own thing to make the gravy and cooked it a bit longer just because I had the time. I like the idea of slicing it first...it cooks faster and the outside doesn't get overdone. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Yum! Made it as written. Used a Montreal steak seasoning mix. Stirred in the chili powder then the minced garlic. Put some on the bottom of a 9X9 pan, layered thin slices of venison and seasoning then poured on the broth. The gravy was very thick, added some water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
O.K. let me just say I dont like venison, but we get it given to us. I have tried it many ways but this works! I made it in the crock pot, left it whole, and smothered it with sliced onion along with the rest of the ingredients listed. I checked it every hour with a meat thermometer, because I didnt know how long to cook it and it took it out at 130. It was fabulous! Please give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hapygrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Wonderful Roast. I never liked venison but can't even tell it is venison with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
We love venison, so my husband gets a little upset when I mess it up. This recipe was soooooo good! The gravy was different, but went great with the roast and potatoes. I'm definitly adding this to my recipe book. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This was very good. My picky husband had seconds and said that I should really save this recipe. It was a bit dry but that might have been my fault. I didn't slice it as thin as I should have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This was great! I'd only eaten venison in chili and hamburgers so I was looking for a good first recipe to try for a roast we were given, and this was perfect. It makes a wonderful, thick gravy that also was delicious on the roasted potatoes I made as a side dish. I made the grill seasoning using the suggestion in rua's review, and it was great. I will be making this recipe again and also using it for beef. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I am giving this only two stars because it was very tough- and my husband just shot this deer so the meat is very fresh and hasn't been in the freezer longer than a couple weeks. If I had put this in the oven for 4 hours at 150 degrees I believe it would have turned out really tender. I had made this recipe exactly as stated. The flavor is really really good. Bake this in a dish with a lid on it or dutch oven for a much longer period of time and this could very well be a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This is hands down the BEST pot roast and gravy I have ever put in my mouth. I pretty much have always cooked my roast this way but needed to improve on my gravy. Well, this is it! I will never make gravy and pot roast any other way. So good I came straight to allrecipes after dinner to rate it. Everyone in my family is stuffed; we couldn't get enough of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
I have made this recipe many times, and each time it is as good as the first time i made it. My husband is a big deer hunter so we always have fresh venison in the winter time, and we always have way too much than we can eat! The first time i made this, he couldn't get enough, he wanted me to make it everyday that week!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

How to Make Roast Leg of Lamb

See how to season and roast a juicy, tender leg of lamb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States