Venison Meat Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
This was great! I used some deer meat my husband killed and processed himself. There was no fat added, so I was a little concerned that the meatloaf would be dry. This was not the case at all! I followed the recipe exactly, except I cooked it for 80 minutes since one review said it wasn't quite done at 70 minutes. Will definitely be making this again and again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
It was alright. I'm not a huge fan of venison but I figured if I made it into a meatloaf I might be able to disguise the flavor enough for my liking. I did make it with half venison, half ground pork though to make up for the very lean venison. It was moist, but I could still taste something 'off.' The second time I made it (needed to use the rest of the venison) I made the glaze w/ ketchup, mustard and brown sugar, then I topped it with bacon. It was more to my liking that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
This is my family's favorite meatloaf. I follow the recipe as it's written, except, I sauté the onions first. I also pour off any grease after baking for an hour and then I add the glaze. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This meatloaf is very good! I couldn't tell it was venison at all. Because I didn't have bread crumbs I just used a 1 cup of oats instead and it turned out just fine! That is the only substitution I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
We use venison all year long and this is a GREAT way to change up the flavor. Everyone loves it - Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This just hit the spot .... thanks for a great, easy and delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Not a big meatloaf fan, but this was yummy. Pretty much followed directions , but did add a splash of Worcestershire sauce and used Grey Poupon harvest coarse ground mustard. When it was hot out of the oven it did not stay together very well, but the next day it firmed up nicely and was not dry at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Haven, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Port Jervis, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Best meatloaf I've made! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
My husband loved this recipe. I found it a little soggy. But I fine most meatloaf to be soggy. It didn't hold its shape very well. We like to make meatloaf sandwiches for leftovers and it was hard to use this meat loaf for that because it crumbled too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I read and appreciated the comments on this recipe. I agree it is very good and well worth the effort which was rather simple. I didn't understand why people might not like the leftovers. I just finished enjoying this meatloaf and I can see there is texture to consider - its very soft and doesn't hold form as much as standard meatloaf and that was a little odd at first. Still it tasted great. I think it would make a great sandwich option. I used 1 lb of venison and one lb of venison sausage. I made a lot more of the top coating and modified it a little based upon all the comments. I only had yellow mustard (not dijon - with honey) so I mixed in hickory farms sweet and sour instead of brown sugar and also the same amount of ketchup. I would do that again because it wasn't too sweet and made a nice top coat on the meatloaf. I also used ketchup instead of sauce as many people indicated. I can imagine the only improvement to make on this recipe would be to firm up the loaf with related ingredients so it holds its form better. I too almost never eat meatloaf but will use this to consume the many lbs of ground venison in our freezer. The calorie count is also excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States