Venison Italian Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2001
This is an incredible recipe. My 3 yr old and 1 yr old loved it, even my picky hubby loved it! I substituted chopped venison for ground, omitted the beans and added more pasta and veggies. Ate it with tomato basil cheesy bread until we were stuffed! Not a spur of the moment recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2002
The hunters in my family loved this! I tripled the recipe to share with all the hungry hunters and the only bad thing that happened was that the crock pot was overflowing! We did not add green beans-but it was still great. The spices blend together nicely and coming from a person that won't eat venison, I have to admit that is smelled pretty good. Some guys sent reusable containers to my husband asking if there was anymore. Would be great for winter hunt club days. Thanks for the recipe! (You made me a hit with the hunt club!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MHASHLEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2000
very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2000
Very good it was easy to make and very tasty to eat.It even had more flavor the next day. Pumafoot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2000
Fabulous,I've never cooked with venison before,but was given some venison sausage. This recipe worked wonderfully,smelled great, and was very tasty. I'm hooked! I omitted the beans and used what pasta I had on hand and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2001
As usual, when cooking with venison the soup has a richer flavor than if beef was used. The canned beans & tomatoes make this recipe easy & fast. It smells wonderful as it simmers & tastes even better. The only problem is it tastes so good there's slim pickings on the leftovers so I think I'll double it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2001
Very good recipe. My husband and I loved it. My 6 year old was not as enthused, but that is to be expected. Would fix again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
My husband is a hunter and requested that I make some type of venison soup for our x-mas dinner. I found this recipe and made it and it was absolutely delicious. I was cooking for 12 and because it was a first course and not a main meal I added small soup pasta instead of ziti. I also substituted chicken broth for the water and actually added a can extra so it wouldn't be so thick. Everyone absolutely loved it! Best soup I think I have ever made. It's a keeper for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2002
This was very good. Very little prep time, just let it simmer away! Mine turned out fairly thick, almost like chili - it would be good with cornbread. My 13-month old couldn't get enough of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
First let me state that I have never liked the taste of venison. With that said, this was a wonderful recipe. I even ate it! It tasted like pasta in garden spaghetti sauce. I omitted the green and pinto beans though. I also used cubed pieces of venison instead of ground. I recommend all to try it and vary it to your taste buds. My children and husband asked when I was going to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Italian Sausage Soup

Hearty, flavorful soup with Italian sausage, vegetables, and pasta.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States