Venison Italian Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
The flavour is excellent. However, it is not really a soup. I added an extra 2 cups of water but still more like pasta with lots of sauce. I will definately make again, only next time less pasta (pre-cooked and rinsed as suggested by previous reviewer), more water or broth. Thanks for a great venison recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
This was very good. I used some deer meat that a friend gave us. I'm glad the spices overwhelmed the "wild" flavor. I used what I had on hand which was a little chopped broccoli and some frozen corn instead of the zucchini. I added a can of tomato soup with one can of water for extra juice. I didn't add the pasta, but I will next time. A very versatile recipe. Definitely a keeper. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2005
I left out the zucchini (don't like them), and added extra water because this was SO thick. Next time I'd add broth instead of the extra water because I think I compromised the flavor of this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
I make this at least once a month, until I run out of venison. The only changes I make are I leave out the green beans and add some beef broth to give it a more soup like consistancy. Husband and kids love this soup and I can make it in the morning and not have to cook..say on a Friday night. Which is what I'm doing today. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
DELISH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
This recipe was really good. Instead of venison I used lean hamburger meat, and sauted it with onion and garlic. The soup was very hearty and more like a stew. My family including my 17 month old boy loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
This is a very easy and taste great. I did not have any pinto beans so I used a can of kidney beans. Still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallace, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Cheraw, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
My husband LOVED this! And he's not really a soup eater. The only thing I did different was add whatever leftover veggies I had in the fridge and used orzo in place of the spiral pasta. Would definitely make again! Thanks, Joelene!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUNTLAINEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
I have five boys in the house that love to hunt, so we are always looking for new recipes for venison. This is my husband's new favorite and all the kids (except for my daughter that "hates meat" really liked it too...even with the veggies. I used kidney beans instead of the pinto beans since that is what I had on hand, but it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
Thankyou Joelene for posting this recipe which I found to be both forgiving/flexible and a 100% KEEPER!! My soup came out great even tho. I did not have the two cans of tomato sauce and had to substitute kidney beans for the pintos. Also.. my stewed tomatos had onion, celery and green pepper in them. Still... totallllly great! My first time cooking venison.. now I wish I could get it ALL the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States