Venison Gyros Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Fabulous! We did us lamb instead of venison because that is what we had on hand. The flavors were perfect and replicated the sandwich we usually buy at a local Greek restaurant. This has become one of our family favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Luvs Papa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
This is delicious! I followed the recipe exactly, and everyone in my family was impressed. I have also tried this recipe with beef... also exceptional. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
My second time using this recipe with beef and I love the flavor it gives it. Perfect for gyros. I don't believe I would change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
This was great! I did use ground venison like a previous reviewer. I made meatballs with this recipe, then after baking I simmered in beef broth with garlic, onion, and oregano. For low carb I dipped these in a yogurt sauce. My husband ate them in a pita bread with extra onion and peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Flavor is outstanding! Venison or beef we love it on both. Alone, on a pita or in stir fry we just can't get enough. Thank you for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annpp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
This was quite delicious and easy. I didn't have marjoram, so I subbed half basil and half thyme. I would have given it 5 stars, but I felt the meat could have been a bit more flavorful. I think next time I will rub the venison with fresh garlic, salt and pepper, and then slice it and marinate it. But my husband was very pleased with how I prepared his prized venison! I too made the "Duke" tzatziki sauce to go with it--yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amylovesu2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
My husband loves deer meat. I had yet to find a deer recipe that I enjoyed untill this one. It was a huge hit and I had two of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Excellent. I went 1.5x on the olive oil and vinegar as it didn't seem to make enough marinade. My son ate four helpings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Easy and tasted awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This was delicious!!! I made a cucumber sauce to go with it. Will be trying with lamb next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Gyros Burgers

See how to make a Greek-style hamburger with ground lamb and beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States