Venison Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
I tried this with boar, venison, and also just beef. It was brilliant! I especially enjoyed the spicy-sour flavours. And that's not too much wine. You just need to reduce it. Just like the recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly like it's written EXCEPT: I tripled the black beans (used the canned kind)and doubled the bacon (how can u go wrong?). Made it at the firehouse for the guys and they all loved it. My 1st ever venison meal was a huge success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric Puntervold

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
I loved this chili, and my husband surprisingly didn't mind it. He did say it way too much wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Excelent. My husband just told me this is the best chili he has ever had. I had to use what I had on hand since we live quite a few miles from town. I used venison summer sausage in place of bacon. I used round steak from our Elk this year. I substituted apple cider vinegar for the red wine vinegar. I also had vegetable base instead of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This is excellent - have made it 5 or 6 times. I suggest making sure you use thick cut bacon with good fat content (since venison is very lean) to add flavor. We've used a peppered bacon as well and found that to add a subtle spicy-ness. We cook the onion (substituted shallots) and garlic longer than the recipe states, and de-glaze the pot with some of the wine - this adds another splash of great flavor. One of our household adds shaved Parmesan on top to garnish - a nice touch. Goes over really well on a cold evening - better on the second day as are most pots of chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I make this every year, and save some for the freezer! I use ground venison instead of stew meat, and I highly recommend using Fetzer's Merlot as the wine (it will be the whole bottle, just dump). Make sure that you simmer it and allow it to reduce! It will thicken some, but it gets a much richer flavor than if you tried eating it with more of a soupy, watery consistancy (we've tried both). No other changes needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I did make quite a few changes, mostly because I know my families tastes. I upped the spices and cut back on the wine, this seemed to be a lot of liquid for only 2 pounds of meat and it was a very nice bottle of wine, I wanted to drink it, not eat it! Even then I added a tin of Romano beans towards the end of cooking because there was still a lot of liquid. I only added one tablespoon of sugar and am considering cutting back on the vinegar next time so I can eliminate it completely. I didn't add any canola oil to cook my bacon, it didn't need it, bacon has it's own fat and I only used one tablespoon of butter to sweat the onions in. This recipe is a good basis, my family all enjoyed it, but agreed that we'll continue tweaking it, thank you for sharing it with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I should start by saying, I've never eaten--or made--venison before. This was all very new to me and I was skeptical at first; However, this recipe definitely exceeded my expectations! I followed this recipe almost exactly (minus the cilantro). It was a little sweet for my taste but still delicious and my husband loved it. Would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Wonderful! Very different from typical chili--more complex and sophisticated (definitely NOT for spaghetti red or chili dogs). I used ground venison. No hitches there. For the wine I used a cheap Cabernet Sauvignon, which provided a very nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Devon Baumann

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
This was an awesome recipe. It wAs more like a stew. I changed some things. I put 3 cans of black beans and added one can of diced tomatoes. Garnished it with seranos, sour cream, cheese and cilantro!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

How to Make Chili

See how to mix up a big ol’ pot of chili—in just 99 seconds!

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States