Venison Cheddar-Jalapeno Summer Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I adjusted this recipe to stuff summer sausage casings. I got the casings from Cabelas, and used about 6 0z of pork butt with it. I ground and stuffed the sausage. then convection roasted at 170 for a few hrs until the internal temp was 165. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
This is a great recipe! I use natural hog casings and smoke it with hickory smoke in my smoker. I have made this three times and the modifications I have made to my taste are using a 1 1/2 cups high melt temperature cheddar & doubling the amount of jalapeno peppers. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe with us all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Just made this recipe from my sons first deer.This is absolutely the BEST we have EVER had.I didn't change a thing and have no plans to.EXCELLENT recipe.THANX FOR SHARING
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Very good recipe! The cheese adds all the fat you need to hold the sausage together. I omitted the Mortons and added salt to taste. I cooked up little batches until it was just right. I tried it baked in the oven and also made it into patties. Delish! I liked it made into patties better though. I think next time I will keep the seeds in the jalapenos. It just wasn't spicy enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianna Moorer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Puckett, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tamrann
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
This is my first ever review of a recipe, but I had to tell you all how AWESOME and EASY this recipe is. It is a perfect and tasty way to use venison (of which we always have alot:) I was worried that the jalepeno's would make this a little to spicy but they don't, even my dad who doesn't like anything spicy couldn't stop eating this. Everyone who has tried this loves it, even my picky kids! Try this recipe, it is amazingly good and easy!! Thanks for sharing Emily!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamrann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stevensville, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
This is a great recipe that I have made several times. I first made the recipe with venison and doubled the jalapenos then stuffed collagen casings and smoked them on my smoker with hickory chips. They turned out really well but I thought they could have had more kick to them. I just made this recipe with lean ground beef and it turned out even better. I still used the collagen casings and smoked with hickory chips but I added even more cheddar and jalapenos. Make sure you leave some of the membrane in the jalapenos if you want more heat. This time I used 4 Jalapenos and 4 Serano peppers and a 16 ounce block of extra sharp cheddar for 5 pounds of ground beef. It turned out amazing with a lot more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
When you roll into logs, you have to pack tightly or you will get air pockets. That's probably why casings and sausage stuffers work so well because you can get the typical summer sausage consistency. I like the flavor, but will probably use casings next time to get a better consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This was probably the best homemade venison sausage we've ever tasted. Friends & family beg for us to make the next batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Bornick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Perry, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
This was very good, better than standard summer sausage according to my samplers. I didn't have tender quick available so I used a tsp of sodium nitrite and 2.5 tbls pickling salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jjmont55

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
We made 10 pounds of sausage only omitting the cheese. This recipe is very tasty and much easier than the recipe we usually use for summer sausage. This will be our "Go To" recipe for venison summer sausage from now on. We will add more jalapeno pepper with the next batch. Thanks you for a stellar recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Tate, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States