Venison Cheddar-Jalapeno Summer Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I substituted lean ground beef for the venison and it was a big hit! Super easy to make since you don't need to use a casing. Will make again often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Flavor is definitely 5 star - loved the spiciness! The texture was very dry though. Next time I will either cook it wrapped in foil (with holes for ventilation) or sub out 1 pound of ground pork or beef fat. I couldn't find the Tender Quick locally and knew the sausage would get eaten this weekend so I used a salt/sugar mixture of three parts salt to one part sugar. I will order some online for future use, but this worked well. I would definitely recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
We made 10 pounds of sausage only omitting the cheese. This recipe is very tasty and much easier than the recipe we usually use for summer sausage. This will be our "Go To" recipe for venison summer sausage from now on. We will add more jalapeno pepper with the next batch. Thanks you for a stellar recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Tate, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
When you roll into logs, you have to pack tightly or you will get air pockets. That's probably why casings and sausage stuffers work so well because you can get the typical summer sausage consistency. I like the flavor, but will probably use casings next time to get a better consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Thank you sooo much for putting this online and actually taking the time to list the nutritional information!!! This is pretty much identical to a recipe my father-in-law uses and now I'm able to enjoy his, and know how to keep track of it for my diet. Thank you so much Emily! I wish more people would put the nutritional info on their recipes. Keep up the good work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Very good recipe! The cheese adds all the fat you need to hold the sausage together. I omitted the Mortons and added salt to taste. I cooked up little batches until it was just right. I tried it baked in the oven and also made it into patties. Delish! I liked it made into patties better though. I think next time I will keep the seeds in the jalapenos. It just wasn't spicy enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianna Moorer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Puckett, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
TOO SALTY! This recipe would be delicious, if the salt wasn't burning the tastebuds right off my tongue. Cut the salt in half and perhaps it will be edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This is one of the easiest recipes for making summer sausage. The flavor is outstanding. The texture was excellent. Most noteable for the first time was the moistness of the product and the smooth, mild taste. As an option we smoked this on the smoker using pear wood. Absolutely the right way to finish this product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This was probably the best homemade venison sausage we've ever tasted. Friends & family beg for us to make the next batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Bornick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Perry, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Excellent recipe! I made it with a four jalapenos and doubled the cheese. This tastes about as good as any summer sausage I have ever had! Thanks for a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States