Venison Cheddar-Jalapeno Summer Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
(Can't edit so a new review.) We really like this. I added a bit extra jalapeno. I had to make my own curing salt (not carried in my small grocery) by mixing twice as much KOSHER salt as brown sugar. 2T salt 1 T brown sugar. Mine was not too salty at all as others complained. EDIT: I added more cheese to try to make it stick together better. Still a bit crumbly so next time I will try adding a bit of ground suet as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Handful

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ada, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Love this recipe. It's our first attempt at summer sausage and I don't think I will ever try another recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Got my first deer this year and had it my mind that I was making this recipe. I didn't change anything. YUM outstanding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tigerdave

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Tried this recipe last year and LOVED it...we also found the cheddar held it together fine, was not dry or crumbly at all. Double the peppers or add in some pepper flakes to increase the heat. Also made batch last year with 5 alarm cheese that 5 different peppers including habenero and it was our favorite. Also, we found we like it better if we removed the foil prior to cooking--tried both ways..First deer this year is ready to grind so better get to it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
This is a very good recipe for venison. The jalapeno did not take over the taste. I also used high temp cheese. I added some bacon ends to the mix to bring up the fat content to meet 80/20%. I used 2.5" fiber casings and I smoked it for 1 hour in hickory (180) then finished in the oven at 200 until the center was 170. I think I will try smoking with apple wood next time for a different taste. Either way everyone who tasted this mix loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gilman, Illinois, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Just a side note on this wonderful sausage. After a couple days in the frig before freezing the jalapeno was a lot stronger as were all the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
This sausage is very good but quite mild. Potency of jalapenos varies based on growing conditions. If yours are mild, increase the amount by 3 or 4 times. Cheese amount is just right. Smoking instead of baking also improves the flavor. Works well with skins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
This is a great recipe to start out with!!! very glad I found it! I would say to use more spices then it says to because I like a more robust flavor. I tried it with 1 Tbls. garlic powder and 2 Tbls onion powder, and 3 jalapeno peppers and left the seeds in. the out come was good but next time I will use more of garlic and onion and probably more pepper. but it is good so thank you Emily Tisdale for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
first time i made this i follow the recipe to the T, well fantastic taste, but very dry. the next time i experimented i used 80/20 ground beef to see if i just needed the fat to keep it moist and it was perfect!! also using habenero peppers is a nice HEATED change if u like spice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vernon, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Destin, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I substituted lean ground beef for the venison and it was a big hit! Super easy to make since you don't need to use a casing. Will make again often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States