Venison Cheddar-Jalapeno Summer Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
I was "gifted" fifteen pounds of venison to experiment with as I have acquired a new sausage making hobby. This was on the the three recipes I made with it. After reading the other reviews I decided to use 3 jalapenos, two with seeds and membrane and nearly two cups of cheddar to add additional fat and keep the sausage moist. It is tender, full of flavor and not dry at all. We will be making this again soon and will try it in beef as well. My batch was ready just in time for Superbowl Sunday! Thanks Emily!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This recipe is fabulous. I used it with my first deer and was not disappointed. After reading the reviews I was worried it wouldn't have enough flavor so I added red pepper as well. Not necessary. Next batch will be straight after the recipe. I also used casings and it worked well. Make sure you pack them tight, it helps with the crumbliness. I've currently got my second batch in the oven now. Can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
This is the second year my husband and I have made this recipe. We love it! I don't change anything. All my family loves it. Can't keep it when we make it. Thank you for All your recipes! My go to site when in need of a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I've made this 2 years now and it's very good. I made a couple of tweaks to it. I do it with 2 lbs venison/1 lb ground pork and blend or chop the jalapenos with the seeds to make it more spicy. I also put them in casings. High temp cheese would also be better as a lot of the cheese melts. Everyone loves it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This was my 1st attempt at venison summer sausage. I used hickory smoked bacon on a 5 to 1 ratio. I believe it is important to follow the directions and let it stand in the fridge for a day and that will settle the salt flavor. What's cool about this is that it's a great base to make your own flavors out of. Also, in casings, I did mine in a convection oven for 8 hours on 175.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I just made my first batch of this sausage...everyone loves it....I didn't change the recipe at all. Does anyone know how long this last? Will it keep for a week in the fridge?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
My family and friends loved this stuff. If you want spicy I would add more than just Jalapeno, maby some crush red pepper also. Over all great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I found it to be a bit dry, maybe adding some pork or pork fat would help, but wouldn't want it to detract from the venison flavor. The cheddar melted and disappeared along with it's flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
anyone who hunts should try this!! A little salty for us, next time we will use 1/2 the amount of salt, THIS IS A KEEPER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
(Can't edit so a new review.) We really like this. I added a bit extra jalapeno. I had to make my own curing salt (not carried in my small grocery) by mixing twice as much KOSHER salt as brown sugar. 2T salt 1 T brown sugar. Mine was not too salty at all as others complained. EDIT: I added more cheese to try to make it stick together better. Still a bit crumbly so next time I will try adding a bit of ground suet as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Handful

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ada, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States