Venison-Bacon White Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Very rich and hearty. I did halve the cinnnamon, salt and cayeanne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This is a hit every time I have made it! A little less salt though. Skip 2 teaspoons. Otherwise, one of the best soups I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Wonderfully Flavored! I did have a few adjustments but nothing too bad. As many did I cut back on the salt, only used 1/4 of what it called for and I would have left that out if I would have had all the bacon it called for. I only had 1/2lb bacon on hand. As far as spice, we like some heat but not FIRE, so glad we only used half the Cayenne pepper. I only had fresh cilantro so I used 4Tbs for the 1Tbs of dried. We use the entire amount of nutmeg and cinnamon and it was fine for us, we're use to it in many of our Chilies. But if your not use to it, you could cut back to half the amounts. If it is too hot for you, of coarse you can add a little sour cream or cheese on top.(we did) Will make again, almost as good as my dad's famous Venison Chili. Glad I tried it and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2013
My husband and I were both feeling under the weather when I made this and we both loved it! I did make some modifications. I used 7 crushed cloves of garlic since I had it, I eye-balled all the spices, used no salt at all, used turkey bacon and a small amount of cinnamon and nutmeg. I also added red cooking wine to the meat mixture. It smelled delicious and tasted amazing. My husband and I both agree that some kind of un-levened bread would go quite well with this. Cornbread might do in a pinch. I will make this again if given the chance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
yikes pretty darn spicy. I used venison bacon only that couldve had some effect on the spice. my boyfriend ate the whole pot that night. said wow i just can't stop eating it even though its so spicy... i also left out the last of the salt because of the veni bacon... Thank God i did This will be a regular thing we'll be making! I'll just have to double the recipe next time and have lots of fun chopping allllllll those garlic cloves :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by undiesinabundle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Medford, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Marshfield, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I altered this some because of a special diet I'm on (blood type diet) and we loved it! I didn't add the corn or bacon. I added lima beans. Added an extra pound of venison and an extra 2 cups of broth. Didn't add all the extra seasonings to the venison. Only put in 2 tsp salt total and used low sodium broth. (salt was just right) Looking back I would only add 1 to 1 and a half tsp of cayenne pepper and I would have maybe added another can of beans. Served with shredded cheddar cheese and sour cream. A-mazing. Even my toddler ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Awesome if you leave out the salt and halve the cinnamon and nutmeg. One person who tried it told me that it was the best chili they'd ever tasted 4 times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This recipe is the BOMB! The first time I made it, everyone raved. The second time and since then I add a pound of ground lamb, a few more chiles and a few more beans. My family loves it with corny corn bread on the side or even under the chili! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
This is a wonderful, unique soup. My husband went wild over it and even took some to work to prove to his boss how good deer meat can be! I added half the amount of cayenne and chili powders. If you love spicy food, put in the whole amt. The next time I make this, I will definitely use half the cinnamon and nutmeg; it was too much for me, even though some of that taste/smell is essential for this soup. I ended up putting in 10 cups of chicken broth, which gave us more to eat and made it soupier. I can't imagine how 4 cups would be enough. Absolutely great - we are putting this on the top of our soup list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Very yummy! We really liked it. It has an excellent flavor, but a little on the spicy side for what we tend to prefer. Next time will cut back on the cayenne and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamadell05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili

This zesty white-bean chili packs some heat!

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States