Venison-Bacon White Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
The basic recipe was good, but it'll need some tweaking. Next time I won't put so much cinnamon in it. It was tad overpowering. Also, make sure you drain your bacon before mixing in. I don't believe the recipe called for that and the chili was a little too greasy. And one last thing is I'll add more cumin. Chili I like has way more cumin in it. My boyfriend absolutely loved it! He ate almost the entire pot over 2 days! I will definitely make again with a few adjustments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iheartmaddiegrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I changed it slightly. I didn't add the salt, it was fine without it. While cooking the meat mixture I added Merlot to it to add flavor. I made it on a Saturday and it was finished off that night so the next day I made it again and doubled the recipe using venison and beef chili meat. All my guy friends loved it and devoured it VERY quickly. Plus, I And I also used Chili Beans instead of Northern Beans and frozen corn for more flavor. Then the green chilies that it called for I used Spiced Rotel tomatoes with green chilies in it, meant for cooking chili and also added a can of diced, peeled tomatos. Turned out FABULOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I have never cooked venison in the past, and I found that this recipe was extremely easy to follow, and the meat turned out tender and flavorful. So, I can safely recommend this for novice cooks. My husband took the chili to work with him, and his co-workers ate the entire pot. I'm making another pot tonight. I did cut back on the salt by one teaspoon, and I found that this recipe was plenty salty (and I generally like a lot of salt in my food.) I also do not own a meat grinder, so I diced the venison, and it turned out great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Whoever thought of putting cinnamon in chili should think again. Not a very good recipe. Way too sweet. I will continue my search for the ultimate venison chili recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
I was given some venison , which I had never cooked before. This was a very tasty recipe, though I was glad I completely eliminated all 4 teaspoons of salt. I think it would have been inedible if that was used. You get more than enough salt with the bacon and chicken broth. I also cut the cayenne pepper to 1 teaspoon, which made it only mildly hot. My husband just adds more hot sauce when I serve it, as he likes to break out in a sweat when he eats chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This chili is phenomenal! It tastes just like a chili I get from a local resturaunt that I love but I could never nail down exactly what was in it. I am going to try it with chicken instead of the venison and bacon this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMS13408

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Laff.
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
This was the first time I made anything with venison. It was good, although next time I will cut back on the salt if not eliminate it altogether. Plenty of taste to this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
I used the spices in this recipe as a guideline for my own venison chili. I didn't follow the ingredient list, but I felt I needed to comment anyway because it was fantastic. I cut the cinnamon and nutmeg in half but followed the remaining spices exactly. I'm definitely going to keep this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sleepingKelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
Amazing!!! I was hesitant to the brown sugar and cinammon, but it added the perfect taste. I substituted chicken for the venison and it worked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
This is a wonderful, unique soup. My husband went wild over it and even took some to work to prove to his boss how good deer meat can be! I added half the amount of cayenne and chili powders. If you love spicy food, put in the whole amt. The next time I make this, I will definitely use half the cinnamon and nutmeg; it was too much for me, even though some of that taste/smell is essential for this soup. I ended up putting in 10 cups of chicken broth, which gave us more to eat and made it soupier. I can't imagine how 4 cups would be enough. Absolutely great - we are putting this on the top of our soup list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili

This zesty white-bean chili packs some heat!

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States