Venison-Bacon White Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
This is my first review on this site, and I think the chili merited it. I left out the cayenne and green chiles since I'm serving two kids under 5, but it still had a real depth of flavor that was really awesome. Great comfort food, and a perfect match for venison. I agree with the other comments on the salt. I used 1/2 the amount and it was a little salty. Will leave out next time. Thanks for sharing a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
Great!!! The whole family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Great different chili recipe. I would eliminate the salt. There is plenty in the bacon and other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
If you like HEAT, and a different twist on traditional Chili - this is it! The spice combo is stellar in my opinion. I did not have venison nor bacon for this (used ground pork, and only 1 lb - all I had!) instead.. but can imagine how wonderful those two meats would be. Venison in chili is delicious, I much prefer it to ground beef. I prepared this in my slow cooker, because I like to use dry beans, which fare best in slow cookers rather than stovetops. So prepped all spices, thawed meat, soaked beans, chopped onion (used 4 shallots instead), and actually was out of garlic so omitted it entirely. Sauteed the shallot in butter & spices that night, added the meat and canola oil and let cook til slightly browned. Followed the roux/stock step, simmered with the corn for a few minutes.. then dumped it all into the crockpot, with the addition of 2 extra cups of chicken stock. Cooked 12 hours on low - it is just fabulous! Served with cornbread crackers. First time EVER I have not added vinegar, cheese, sour cream or any other toppings to my chili! LOVE THIS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
Great flavor. I too, left out the salt and it was just right without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
Loved it! Changed it a bit: Followed steps 1 & 2, but also added seasoning and veggies from step 3 (cut cayenne down to 1 tsp total). Cooked the bacon separately, drained on towels, then added to prior mixture. Put mixture in crock pot w/cubed 2 pound chuck roast and simmered all day (about 8 hours). Definitely had more fat this way (no place for the roast to drain), but it was delish! (And I drained the fat off after refrigerating the next day). Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bristol, Virginia, USA
Living In: Southlake, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Whoever thought of putting cinnamon in chili should think again. Not a very good recipe. Way too sweet. I will continue my search for the ultimate venison chili recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
I used this recipe for a chili cook-off at my sons school. It was a great hit. I did not add the salt. I put in kidney beans, a little more chile powder, and only half of the cayenne pepper. We won Peoples Choice at out cook-off. A great recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
Wow! This is really terrific. Finally I have something I can do with all that ground venison in our freezer. My son doubled this recipe for us last night. A little bit was left over and I was planning to have it for lunch, but dh swiped it for breakfast! The only thing we altered was we left out the cayenne because our cayenne seems extra hot and we're not the types who can handle that much spice. Absolutely perfect! Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
I work part time in a bar full of amateur and not so amateur cooks...When I brought this chili in, the whole staff went nuts over and are insisting I bring it in again and again. It's the best chili I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harlan, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili

This zesty white-bean chili packs some heat!

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States