Venison-Bacon White Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I would really love to give this recipe 5 stars, because it was absolutely amazing - but the 4 teaspoons of salt prevents me from doing so. Since I am trying to stick with south beach diet guidelines, as much as possible, I made the following modifications. I left out the salt, smart balance instead of butter, whole wheat flour, turkey bacon instead of regular, venison stew meat instead of ground (because I didnt' have the ground), and brown sugar w/splenda. Also because of my own personal preference I used diced chlies instead of whole, and only 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper. This is my favorite chili by far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
don't add salt, half the spices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LC

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
I used the spices in this recipe as a guideline for my own venison chili. I didn't follow the ingredient list, but I felt I needed to comment anyway because it was fantastic. I cut the cinnamon and nutmeg in half but followed the remaining spices exactly. I'm definitely going to keep this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sleepingKelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This is going to be a staple in my kitchen. I used a very smokey bacon and ommitted 3 tbsps of the salt and all of cilantro (because I didn't have any in the house). I built the chili on the stove top and then put the entire thing in the oven for 2 1/2 hours. Got rave reviews from hubby and friends who were over for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tessie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lennon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
After reading each and every review I decided that this would be the recipe to WOW my husband with after a long hard day at work. Boy was I wrong! We both thought that the cinnamon and nutmeg were overbearing and to be quite frank, when mingled with the other flavors it was gross. The entire house reeked of the aroma of the chili. I was more than disappointed, especially after all of the positve reviews. I read the recipe more than once before I began and of course during and even after. I am now reluctant to prepare anymore venison chili recipes from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This was AMAZING!!!!! My husband and I cannot get enough! I doubled the recipe, left out the salt, and 1/3 the bacon (less sodium). Served with cheese and sour cream. Too die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I have never cooked venison in the past, and I found that this recipe was extremely easy to follow, and the meat turned out tender and flavorful. So, I can safely recommend this for novice cooks. My husband took the chili to work with him, and his co-workers ate the entire pot. I'm making another pot tonight. I did cut back on the salt by one teaspoon, and I found that this recipe was plenty salty (and I generally like a lot of salt in my food.) I also do not own a meat grinder, so I diced the venison, and it turned out great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
This recipe as is is good. I think it can get a little better. I ended up tweaking slightly to what we had on hand and what we preferred in the Chili. This is a great base recipe. I used this recipe in a crockpot by adding all ingredients except the venison and some butter to cook it in and once cooked through I added salt and pepper to it and 1/3 cup flour to coat the meat and then threw that in the crockpot. I HATE the cinnamon and nutmeg in it though. I can still eat it but find myself not wanting much due to these ingredients. I even got nauseated when reheating it for the husbands lunch thermos this morning (due to the smell of that cinnamon and nutmeg in there) LOL apparently I am not a fan of these ingredients in this dish. I love the overall flavor beyond those ingredients and next time will simply Omit those. I did add a 28 oz can of petite diced tomatoes and 1/2 taco seasoning packet as well as about 2 TBSP Taco Sauce and about 8 diced pickled Jalepenos to the mix. I substituted dry northern beans (1 Cup) for the crockpot method instead of using canned. My family enjoyed this dish. I am new to eating venison so I have to say this recipe is great in that I didnt feel like I tasted a gamey flavor in our meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Burrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harts, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Dexter, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Amazing! I used fresh cliantro-but everything else was as listed. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
The basic recipe was good, but it'll need some tweaking. Next time I won't put so much cinnamon in it. It was tad overpowering. Also, make sure you drain your bacon before mixing in. I don't believe the recipe called for that and the chili was a little too greasy. And one last thing is I'll add more cumin. Chili I like has way more cumin in it. My boyfriend absolutely loved it! He ate almost the entire pot over 2 days! I will definitely make again with a few adjustments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iheartmaddiegrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Smoked Sausage White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple smoked sausage and white bean chili in just minutes.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States