Venison-Bacon White Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Very yummy! We really liked it. It has an excellent flavor, but a little on the spicy side for what we tend to prefer. Next time will cut back on the cayenne and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherri Schroeder Dell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I can't believe how delicious this is! Made the recipe exactly how it was written (i did drain the back grease), and served with sour cream on top..this one is definitely a keeper, and I plan on making it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This chili is phenomenal! It tastes just like a chili I get from a local resturaunt that I love but I could never nail down exactly what was in it. I am going to try it with chicken instead of the venison and bacon this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMS13408

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Great chili! We don't add the salt, use reduced sodium chicken broth with turkey bacon for a more healthy version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
It was good, but didn't really taste like chili. It was more of a stew with ground venison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenny
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Very tasty. I added a tomato and about 3/4 of a jar of salsa, used fresh jalapenos instead of canned chiles, and omitted the flour/butter. Next time I will add even more tomatoes, because as my long-time-cook-boyfriend pointed out, tomatoes add acidity which helps to tenderize the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairfield, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I changed it slightly. I didn't add the salt, it was fine without it. While cooking the meat mixture I added Merlot to it to add flavor. I made it on a Saturday and it was finished off that night so the next day I made it again and doubled the recipe using venison and beef chili meat. All my guy friends loved it and devoured it VERY quickly. Plus, I And I also used Chili Beans instead of Northern Beans and frozen corn for more flavor. Then the green chilies that it called for I used Spiced Rotel tomatoes with green chilies in it, meant for cooking chili and also added a can of diced, peeled tomatos. Turned out FABULOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
This was truly yummy. Not the right recipe if you're looking for traditional "Texas" chili, but it is delicious in its own right. I'm lucky enough to be in NM where I can add fresh green chilis. So good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I won a local chili cook-off this weekend with this recipe! There were 10 entries total and I got a TON of compliments on how many layers of flavor this dish has. By the way, I assumed the author meant 15-20 seconds, not minutes, in the first instruction. Also, I used a yellow onion instead of red. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Fantastic recipe. I've never cooked venison before and didn't know what to expect. It's filling and hearty. I did follow the lead of other reviews and halved the amount of cinnamon and nutmeg and did not add any salt. I will definitely try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Smoked Sausage White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple smoked sausage and white bean chili in just minutes.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States