Venison Bacon Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
I used a whole lb of bacon, and Ground Bison. My hubby loved these burger. Will now be my go to burger recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
OMG! This is the best recipe ever for venison burgers. They are melt in your mouth yummy and juicy and just the right amount of everything. I didn't change a thing. I cannot say enough about these burgers, if you don't like venison burgers this recipe will change your mind!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shellcates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
was very good, had to substitute small onion and minced garlic for the shallots and cooked in pan on stove since cold rainy out but was good, hubby liked too. gonna try to make as meatballs, using italian seasonings also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Barnhart, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Always looking for new ways to jazz up burgers. With an avid hunter under the roof I have plenty of venison to play with. This is by far the BEST recipe for venison burgers! The bacon drippings added the perfect amount of moisture to the meat. I use thick cut hickory smoked bacon - added wonderful smokey flavor. Only added a bit of panko - not sure why except I grew up with bread crumbs in my burgers. AMAZING burgers! Thank you. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
WOW !! Wonderful !!! Only change was substituting Onions for the Shallots. I also added a little more bacon grease that I had reserved because my bacon was so lean. We will be making this over and over and over again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
delicious! Made the venison juicy and very tasty. next time I will add a few more pieces of bacon though. And more bacon strips on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shans1622
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Very yummy and stayed moist, baked in the oven as suggested by other reviewer didn't have grill out yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hallock, Minnesota, USA
Living In: New Rockford, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Delicious!! I just recently discovered venison and absolutely love it. I had 12 oz of ground venison so I used 3 slices nitrate-free bacon, red onion and fresh garlic instead of the shallots. I added a bit of butter to the pan after I cooked the bacon and sweated the onion and garlic. I used half a beaten egg and some panko bread crumbs too because my meat seemed a bit sticky. I also added some dried thyme based on another recipe I read on this site. The pan looked too good with all the brown bits and bacon grease/butter so I added a bit of olive oil and seared the burgers that way. Just have to keep a close eye on the heat because they cook quickly..about 4 mins on each side was maximum to still get 3 juicy burgers. Added some sliced provolone on top..a nice mild cheese to counter the meaty flavors was perfect. Loved the smokiness of the bacon, the freshness of the parsley and the beautifully different flavor of venison. Ive seen so many recipes with reviews that state all the tricks they used to mask the flavor of the venison. If you have to mask it..you probably just don't enjoy eating it lol. This recipe was great..thanks so much for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This was fantastic, one of best burgers I've had in long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
These burgers have great flavor. The only thing I substituted was a little onion powder for the shallots because I didn't have any on hand. It's too cold to cook outside so I cooked these in a cast iron skillet - 4 min per side, then finished them in a 425 degree oven for another 4 minutes to make sure the centers were done. It was a great meal with sweet potato fries and baked beans. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

Grilled Salmon with Bacon and Corn Relish

A warm bacon and fresh corn relish make this salmon spectacular.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States