Venison and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
My husband said this is reminiscent of sloppy-Joes. Our whole family, including our 15 mo. son, LOVED it. I didn't have pork and beans, so I substituted a 16 oz can of off-brand baked beans instead, and I also substituted a 15.5 oz can of black beans since I didn't have the great Northern beans. It is a little sweet, but it's a very rich and satisfying main dish. This recipe is very forgiving with substitutions, and the sugar could definitely be reduced for the more carb conscious individuals without any flavor sacrifice. If the gamey flavor bothers someone in your household, have them try this recipe- it covers up a lot of that strong game flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaBear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Delicious!! I didn't have ketchup on hand so used chili sauce as suggested by another reviewer. Also added garlic to the meat/onion mix and only used about half of the brown sugar since my pork & beans had molassases in them. It was SOOO good! Everyone wanted 2nds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
I made this with ground beef, but I chose this recipe because it was the only Old Settler's Style baked bean recipe I could find that did not call for bottled BBQ sauce. I didn't want it too sweet, so I cut the amount of ketchup in half and only used 1/2c. It was excellent! As an individual who cooks with a lot of game meats, I'm totally comfortable saying this would have been just as good using venison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I used venison steaks cut up small instead of ground venison since that is what I had on hand. I also didn't have any great northern beans so I just used 2 cans of pork and beans. The flavor was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I've had this exact recipe for 20+ years! I have made a few tweaks over the years, but it's always a hit. First, instead of ketchup I use chili sauce - it has more zing. I also use pretty much a full pack of bacon and 1 tsp. of stone ground mustard. I also sometimes add mushrooms. I do not cook mine in the oven, I just throw it all in the crockpot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Cartwright-Diekevers

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grandville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
We really liked this. I used half venison and half beef as it was what I had on hand. I also decreased the sugar to 1/4 c. I'm really looking forward to the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
Way too sweet, and I only added a couple tablespoons of brown sugar as opposed to the 1/3 cup the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
This is an excellent recipe, serve with some kind of roll or biscuit and a side veggie and you have a great meal that even kids will enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States