Venice High School Cherry Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
A hit at Thanksgiving! It is VERY important to use confectioner's sugar and SIFTED flour. I noticed the first time I made these I didn't use the sifted flour and they turned out the way "Shanny" described, undercooked in the middles and browned at the bottom. It is also VERY important that when you smash it down with a fork, you do it enough to make it somewhat flat, something like the pictures that were submitted. Again, this will avoid the undercooked middle and overcooked outside. Absolutely excellent! Wonderful texture and taste! A new holiday tradition, can't wait to make again in a few weeks for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
I am the original poster of this recipe (been trying to log-on to that account, but haven't been able to get the password right!) Baking times are truly variable, depending on your oven. You must watch cookies closely, I've found that once there is a light brown tinge, the time is right. The cookie's thickness will also affect baking times and textures. My avg is around 12-15 minutes, 17 minutes is too long, but of course all ovens are different. Lastly, sifted flour is vital. Regular flour makes it heavy and crumbly. That being said, this is one of my all time favorites. Rich, buttery and oh so good. I always end up adding much more cherries and walnuts than the original recipe calls for: usually up to 1c each, and I chop of the cherries very fine so that they are more evenly distributed. Every Christmas I get asked to make these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakermd

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
Thought these turned out a little dry. They took forever to bake because the middles just weren't getting cooked. Then when they were completely baked through, they turned out with dark bottoms and very dry. And I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by carrotcakefreak
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
I think the powdered sugar gives this a nice delicate texture, overall it has a very buttery kind of taste. Delicious if you're into the shortbread type of cookies (which I am.) I added Christmas colored non-pareils to give it a festive look. I can easily see adding red white and blue ones for July 4th, pastel colored ones for Easter or birthdays, etc... I also added the powdered sugar to the finished baked product. A really great, tasty, butter cookie! And I agree, I could really see these would go well with coffee or tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carrotcakefreak

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
Very good! First batch I undercooked, I took out when they started to brown but the insides weren't done. Next batch I left in recommended time and came out great! Thanks for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ixonia, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Canisteo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
These are wonderful cookies!! Melt in your mouth, buttery flaky, they will be a new holiday tradition for my family. Thanks so much for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
I made these without the walnuts and with a few extra cherries and they turned out great. I also tried using an electric mixer to add the flour, and it worked, but it was harder to form the dough into balls that stuck together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
Great tasting cookie. I used a bit more cherries than recommended and it came out lovely. Will most certainly make again. I think I may try substituting cherries with chocolate chips next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
Yummy shortbread-ish sugar cookie. Nice touch of cherry with the maraschinos. Perfect compliment to a cuppa joe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-59 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Your family will love these dense, no-flour cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States