Venice High School Cherry Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Wonderfully delicious!! I did sift both the sugar and the flour. Dough was so easy to work with. Will definitely make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aledo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luvmykids
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I tried these for the first time this past Christmas and we all LOVED them. My son, home sick from school today, asked me to make them but we don't have any maraschino cherries. As it's getting close to Easter, I used chopped up jelly beans instead! I also threw in a mini box of lemonade-flavored Nerds candy for good measure. I know it sounds like a weird combo but they are FABLUOUS! The jelly beans are chewy and the Nerds are crunchy...yummmm!! Just watch the time-mine were perfect in 12 minutes, any more and they would have been overdone. They should be just a pale light brown on the bottom. I wonder what else I can throw in these cookies??? :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvmykids

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Deeeelish! Yummy butter cookie! Rich taste and texture. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
These were good, but the dough was extremely crumbly and almost impossible to work with. Because of that, I probably won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOOKEDONJESUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
These are probably really good butter cookies. I don't think I like this type of cookie, though. They weren't bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Great cookies! People, if you change the recipe, it's not the recipe anymore. Rate it the way it's written and if you want to change it--write your own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Texastwinkie
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Very good cookie. Instead of using my kitchen aid I decided to use my hand mixer and it worked fine. I did not sift the flour. After everything was mixed I did have to mush it together by hand and I lightly kneaded in the cherries and nuts. The dough was wonderful to work with, was easy to form and lightly flatten with a fork. I baked them on a parchment-lined sheet for 13-14 minutes. Removed the sheet from oven and let them sit for about 2 minutes before transferring them to a cooling rack. I don't like airbake sheets but if you decide to use one you may need to bake longer. I'll try to use half vanilla and half almond extract next time to see if the almond will compliment the cherries. I made a little cherry drizzle out of maraschino juice, milk, almond extract, melted butter and powdered sugar. Also made a cocoa drizzle with vanilla, milk, cocoa powder and powder sugar. Drizzled all the cookies with both chocolate and cherry drizzle. Cookie tasted good, looks great, and freezes well. Will make great little Christmas or valentine cookies. And, they taste great with coffee! This cookie is a hidden gem here on allrecipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texastwinkie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Oh my goodness, wow, great cookie. Would have never thought to use cherries in a butter cookie recipe, but very tasty and rich. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
A hit at Thanksgiving! It is VERY important to use confectioner's sugar and SIFTED flour. I noticed the first time I made these I didn't use the sifted flour and they turned out the way "Shanny" described, undercooked in the middles and browned at the bottom. It is also VERY important that when you smash it down with a fork, you do it enough to make it somewhat flat, something like the pictures that were submitted. Again, this will avoid the undercooked middle and overcooked outside. Absolutely excellent! Wonderful texture and taste! A new holiday tradition, can't wait to make again in a few weeks for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Your family will love these dense, no-flour cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States