Venice High School Cherry Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I just made these. They are good. I did omit the nut because I am giving them to someone who can't eat nuts. The batter was crumbly and very hard to work with. Otherwise these are good. I might see about adding some Cherry flavor next time to give the bites that have no cherry a bit of cherry flavor. I will also make them again with the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Wonderfully delicious!! I did sift both the sugar and the flour. Dough was so easy to work with. Will definitely make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aledo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luvmykids
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I tried these for the first time this past Christmas and we all LOVED them. My son, home sick from school today, asked me to make them but we don't have any maraschino cherries. As it's getting close to Easter, I used chopped up jelly beans instead! I also threw in a mini box of lemonade-flavored Nerds candy for good measure. I know it sounds like a weird combo but they are FABLUOUS! The jelly beans are chewy and the Nerds are crunchy...yummmm!! Just watch the time-mine were perfect in 12 minutes, any more and they would have been overdone. They should be just a pale light brown on the bottom. I wonder what else I can throw in these cookies??? :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvmykids

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Deeeelish! Yummy butter cookie! Rich taste and texture. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
These were good, but the dough was extremely crumbly and almost impossible to work with. Because of that, I probably won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOOKEDONJESUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
These are probably really good butter cookies. I don't think I like this type of cookie, though. They weren't bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Great cookies! People, if you change the recipe, it's not the recipe anymore. Rate it the way it's written and if you want to change it--write your own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Texastwinkie
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Very good cookie. Instead of using my kitchen aid I decided to use my hand mixer and it worked fine. I did not sift the flour. After everything was mixed I did have to mush it together by hand and I lightly kneaded in the cherries and nuts. The dough was wonderful to work with, was easy to form and lightly flatten with a fork. I baked them on a parchment-lined sheet for 13-14 minutes. Removed the sheet from oven and let them sit for about 2 minutes before transferring them to a cooling rack. I don't like airbake sheets but if you decide to use one you may need to bake longer. I'll try to use half vanilla and half almond extract next time to see if the almond will compliment the cherries. I made a little cherry drizzle out of maraschino juice, milk, almond extract, melted butter and powdered sugar. Also made a cocoa drizzle with vanilla, milk, cocoa powder and powder sugar. Drizzled all the cookies with both chocolate and cherry drizzle. Cookie tasted good, looks great, and freezes well. Will make great little Christmas or valentine cookies. And, they taste great with coffee! This cookie is a hidden gem here on allrecipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texastwinkie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Oh my goodness, wow, great cookie. Would have never thought to use cherries in a butter cookie recipe, but very tasty and rich. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Your family will love these dense, no-flour cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States