Venice High School Cherry Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Wasnt horrible, but not great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tyler Frazier

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I thought these cookies were good, and they have a lot of potential. I followed the recipe exactly, I just made half a batch. I think I will add some cherry juice next time to give them a stronger cherry flavor... and maybe some chocolate chips, or dip them in white chocolate. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a.granados

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA
Living In: Palmetto, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I baked these closer to 8 minutes, but I also made smaller cookies. They are very cute cookies, with a small amount of cherry flavor, but so easy, that they are easily made again with more. (I haven't tried, but they were so so easy, it can't be hard ;) I found my fork was sticking so I used some confectioner's sugar on my fork to help, and it did. Very cute, tasty little cookies. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I did not use the walnuts, but instead used white chocolate chips to make these red and white for the holidays. When the cookies were cooled, I dipped them in melted white chocolate and topped with holiday sprinkles. The looked very festive and are a delicious cherry cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I followed the recipe to a t. They remind me of a mexican wedding cookie a little bit. If I make these again I would up the cherries to probably 1 Cup. I thought the 1/2 cup was a little on the light side. Thanks for sharing they are easy to make and look very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Photo by la belle vie
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
these are great! i halved the recipe and omitted the walnuts(i hate walnuts) i did add a lot more cherries also. nice change from the traditional shortbread cookie! will be a nice addition to my cookie platter this christmas. next time i might try adding almond extract instead of vanilla as cherry and almond go so well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by la belle vie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I was disappointed in these cookies. Granted, I used almonds instead of walnuts, but really I didn't think the cookie had much cherry flavor. I even made a glaze from the maraschino juice (as someone had suggested) to try and give it some more cherry oomph, but I don't think it made much difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Takoma Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Mmmmm, perfect holiday cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JitterBug589

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I make these every Christmas and they are my favorite. They look festive, they are easy to make, and they are delicious. I increase to 1 cup cherries and 1 cup walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
melt in your mouth, which i loved! felt like it could have used a bit more flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fleetwood, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Your family will love these dense, no-flour cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States