Venia's Tuna Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Nice take on tuna salad and great for a low-carb light meal! I loved the concept, but I did change this up as I thought the amounts of the ingredients listed might be a bit much. For a 6 oz. can of tuna I used about 2 Tbsp. of Hellman's light mayo, 1 Tbsp. of chopped celery, 2 tsp. of chopped red onion, a little garlic powder, salt, pepper, and a splash of red wine vinegar. I let that chill while I hollowed out a large tomato and made a bed of lettuce on a plate. I then spooned the chilled tuna salad inside the tomato and served it with a couple slices of melba toast. This turned out to be a really good low fat lunch that I didn't have to feel guilty about!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
It was okay, but it lacked the crunch of a sweet pickle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
I cored a tomato and hollowed it out using a tomato shark; then I filled it with the tuna salad. I only used 1 Tablespoon mayo and a little onion as I wasn't mixing in a whole head of lettuce. This made for a very delicious dish. The recipe was lacking seasoning but it's very easy to just add what you like. Thank you Venia for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
So delicious! Made this tonight as a quick dinner. I didn't have tomatoes, but it was still great. Just added a little garlic powder, hot sauce, and a little bread a butter pickle juice along with the salt and pepper to the mayo. Definately added to the tuna rotation! Will also try with bacon and chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYRIS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This is my favorite tuna salad, my husband makes it several times a month. He omits the onion and adds cucumber, garlic powder, pepper, avocado and shredded cheddar cheese. It is best served right away, it does get watery if you let it sit for awhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Hultman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
Quick, easy, & yummy! My mother used to make this with chopped hard boiled eggs and chopped onion, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
I don't really like mayo so I replaced it with some ranch dressing. I also used less lettuce and added some cucumber instead. Served it inside pita bread. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
I did not like this. It had to much mayo. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
I made this in hopes that it would be a pleasent twist to the traditional tuna salad. The recipe as is however has far too much lettuce in it for me to consider it a tuna salad , it is more of a garden salad with tuna. I made it a second time using less then a half a head of lettuce and substituted the salt for garlic powder to taste and it went over much better with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
Excellent...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Spice up tuna salad with a little curry and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States