Venetians Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
I make these every Christmas and my guests always rave about them and look forward to them every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
Very beautiful pastel layers and excellent flavor. I had trouble cutting the bars, however, because the chocolate kept cracking and breaking. Next time I would use a thinner chocolate layer. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
I love this recipe. If you like Venetians there is no other recipe to use. I use more food coloring gels instead of the liquid food coloring. It make a brighter cookie. It just adds so much color to any cookie tray!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
Perfect recipe! If you follow it to a T, you'll get the most wonderful, rich, moist Rainbow Cookies you can imagine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Babylon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
Great recipe, used it for last year's Mardi Gras Potluck at work tinted the layers green, purple and gold. Moist and tasty. I'll switch to almond filling or gourmet fresh ground nut butter from the grocery store. Mac nut paste maybe ....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
My family loves these and this recipe is wonderful....especially since it makes a 9X13 pan rather than an 8X8 or 9X9. I've made these for different occasions and varied the traditional colors to match the holiday or theme. You will not be disappointed. I also find that cutting the bars upside down, with the chocolate side down is MUCH easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkland, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Osceola, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DLD
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Excellent recipe! These cookies are my favorite and I haven't been able to find them since moving to FL. I halved the recipe which yielded 30 cookies. In regards to the jam, I thought it called for far too much. You only need to finely coat each layer. I used a total of 1/4 cup + 2 tablespoons. For the full recipe I would use anywhere between 1/2 to 3/4 cup. If you find that your chocolate is too thick, add a little veggie oil and it will be much easier to work with without the taste being compromised. I used 1/2 cup of mini chocolate chips and that was a perfect amount to spread. Coat with chocolate sprinkles to make them truly authentic. AEMAZA has the right idea when it comes to cutting the cookies. The cut is much cleaner/nicer when placed upside-down! Thanks Elaine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DLD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
These were absolutely delicious. I love rainbow cookies and I will definately be making this recipe again and again. They were a little time consuming but well worth it and because its a 13x9 pan i got a ton of cookies out of it. I added a little butter to my chocolate when melting it and it made it a little softer to cut and didn't crumble. I baked each cookie in a greased foil pan and skipped the wax paper and they all came out of the pans fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
This was my late mother's signature cookie. I made it for the first time today and it is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tattoogirllovessteven
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
These are wonderful! I made them to give in goodie bags for Christmas. I followed the recipe and they turned out great! I scored the chocolate before it hardened all the way and had no trouble with it cracking. I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tattoogirllovessteven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newton, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Marshmallow Treats

See how to make super-easy marshmallow treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States