VELVEETA® Down-Home Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Mona
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
Made this recipe tonight, as written, no changes. It was easy to make, everyone enjoyed it. Both of my teenagers went back for seconds. As a matter of fact, it's gone. I thought it was okay. For me, it could have been a bit more cheesier, maybe the flour was the issue. not sure, but felt like something was missing. I'll make it again, maybe add some sharp cheddar?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
This is an excellent classic baked mac n cheese dish. I followed the recipe exactly and the only thing it needs is salt to taste. I just lightly salted my portion at the table and it was perfect. This is a real family pleaser and great for a pot-luck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Use more ritz crackers and add cooked bacon inside. So yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Best mac n cheese they've ever had...that was the consensus at my Thanksgiving table this year. Only thing wrong with it was that it was gone in a snap. Will double next time! Don't change a thing...it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I tweaked this after reading the reviews. First off I made mine for 12 servings. I used three spoonfuls of flour, not overflowing spoonfuls either. I used 6 spoonfuls of butter, increased the milk by 1/4 of a cup, and finally increased the Velveeta by 4oz (or a 1/4). I then added hot sauce, ground mustard, pepper, and salt. (first time I made this) I added bacon and sharp cheddar cheese. Topped it off with crushed french onions (because I NEVER have Ritz). (Second time I made this) I included Jalapenos, mushrooms, onions, bacon, and diced ham. They both were amazing, but my husband prefers all the stuff in it. VERY VERY creamy and cheesy!!! I give it 4 stars because I tweaked it and felt it was better because I did :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
The taste was good, but I made some pretty major additions. I was really looking for it to be A LOT cheesier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiFink

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lake Worth, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
I made this a while ago and it is so creamy. The only thing I did differently was to add some hot sauce when I was making the cheese sauce. We like things a bit spicy so I added 10 drops of Franks Red Hot sauce. It still wasn't really spicy but it gave it a bit of a kick. The leftovers also freeze nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KJ
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I'm rating this recipe as written but adding one thing easily makes it into a five star dish. I add a can of Progresso cheese starter into the cheese sauce. It adds extra flavor and it is so much creamier, especially when heating any leftovers up. I didn't add the crackers. I feel like crackers or bread crumbs tend to take away from the creaminess and can make it dry. We like just a sprinkle of shredded colby-jack or cheddar cheese on top and let it brown a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Perfect as is, if you like it thick add the floor if not don't. I didn't and it came out just the way I like it, creamy. I also added a pinch of onion powder to the suave mix. Just broil it to brown the crackers, but If you want it in the oven for longer over do your noodles a little so they will harder in the over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Eewey Gooey, too much cheese, too much goop! Even my 6 and 9 year old grandchildren didn't like this mac n cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Festie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Mac and Cheese

Great taste and classic goodness prepared in a slow cooker.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States