VELVEETA® Down-Home Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I tweaked this after reading the reviews. First off I made mine for 12 servings. I used three spoonfuls of flour, not overflowing spoonfuls either. I used 6 spoonfuls of butter, increased the milk by 1/4 of a cup, and finally increased the Velveeta by 4oz (or a 1/4). I then added hot sauce, ground mustard, pepper, and salt. (first time I made this) I added bacon and sharp cheddar cheese. Topped it off with crushed french onions (because I NEVER have Ritz). (Second time I made this) I included Jalapenos, mushrooms, onions, bacon, and diced ham. They both were amazing, but my husband prefers all the stuff in it. VERY VERY creamy and cheesy!!! I give it 4 stars because I tweaked it and felt it was better because I did :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
The taste was good, but I made some pretty major additions. I was really looking for it to be A LOT cheesier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiFink

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lake Worth, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
I made this a while ago and it is so creamy. The only thing I did differently was to add some hot sauce when I was making the cheese sauce. We like things a bit spicy so I added 10 drops of Franks Red Hot sauce. It still wasn't really spicy but it gave it a bit of a kick. The leftovers also freeze nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KJ
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I'm rating this recipe as written but adding one thing easily makes it into a five star dish. I add a can of Progresso cheese starter into the cheese sauce. It adds extra flavor and it is so much creamier, especially when heating any leftovers up. I didn't add the crackers. I feel like crackers or bread crumbs tend to take away from the creaminess and can make it dry. We like just a sprinkle of shredded colby-jack or cheddar cheese on top and let it brown a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Perfect as is, if you like it thick add the floor if not don't. I didn't and it came out just the way I like it, creamy. I also added a pinch of onion powder to the suave mix. Just broil it to brown the crackers, but If you want it in the oven for longer over do your noodles a little so they will harder in the over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Eewey Gooey, too much cheese, too much goop! Even my 6 and 9 year old grandchildren didn't like this mac n cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Festie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I literally just put this in the oven to bake. I definitely didn't follow the recipe I tweaked it up with my own spin. I did not use 1/4 cup of flour I just maybe 2 tbsp. instead and it made it just thick enough. also as I was stirring in the velveeta I added ground mustard and pepper. After I added the cooked macaroni to the cheese sauce I mixed in some shredded cheddar and jack cheese. I am making this for my boyfriend and he love spicy stuff. hopefully it turns out super yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krissy Marie Harstine
Living In: Dover, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
My husband loved the creamy cheesy flavor of this recipe and is actually looking forward to eating the leftovers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This needs some major tweaking. NOT my favorite mac and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Best Mac & Cheese recipe ever. I replaced elbow pasta with shells and substituted in half & half instead of milk. Its awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States