Vel's Christmas Shortbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Tried subbing white for brown sugar. Using 4c flour, softer, more buttery taste. Yum. Using 5c, still very good; but not as creamy. Not dry, just less creamy. Yum. The prick holes stayed in the 5c, disappeared in the 4c. 5c, 38 minutes. 4c, 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
These are OK. I don't think the brown sugar added to it. I've had better recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I found this recipe to not work at all. I did mix it like the directions. It just would not roll out correctly. Not good when butter is expensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Batavia, New York, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
I use this recipe to make toffee chip shortbread cookies. I add a package of toffee chips to the dough(you can find them in the chocolate chip section of the baking aisle in the store). I roll the dough into 2 inch balls, then flatten slightly on the cookie sheet. If I am feeling really festive, I drizzle some melted chocolate over the tops of the cookies after they have cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Excellent. Some advice for those having trouble, sift your flour BEFORE you measure it. Sifted flour is much bigger in volume. If you don't sift you are adding too much flour overall, resulting in too-dry dough. Also, use salted butter, or there's no taste, and let the butter be room-temp soft. These are classic cookies! Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MornDew247

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I used this recipe for my cookie exchange for Xmas, and they turned out great. I used green and red food colouring to make the cookies look more festive. I also made the 2 colours into bricks and put them together and sliced them into cookies. Made a nice double coloured cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mmwth4girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Makes a delicate, light shortbread cookie--A bit crumbly after baking, and easily break, so I wouldn't recommend icing them. Otherwise they are a fantastic cookie that melts in your mouth. I use this recipe every year and it's a big hit every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
Dough from these directions is impossibly dry. Ridiculous,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
THE WORST! I have done about a dozen or so cookie recipes off of here if not more and this was horrible. My husband who eats anything said they were the worst cookies he has ever had. They had NO taste and were waaay to dry. I followed the recipe perfectly and it was just bad. I have never left less then a 4 star on any recipe. I dont know what the people who left good ratings did. I couldnt even fix the recipe I had to throw it all out after I baked the first batch and tasted it. Yuck!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
Delicious and couldn't be simpler
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States