Veggie Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Omitted carrot and green pepper (didn't have) also no oregano. Cooked on low for 3 hrs. Very tasty! On a whim I added a little peanut butter to my bowl for added protein and I liked it, just a tsp. I would try adding to a small amount in case you don't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat Hanners

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Just as good as chili with hamburger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I have made this twice already using whatever veggies and beans i had on hand (although i over did it with too much garbanzos the second time). The amount of seasonings and spices was just right although I did make them a bit spicier for my and my husband's personal taste. I'm a diabetic and this is going to be made all the time in my house :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYSTRESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paranaque, National Capital Region, Philippines
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
This is fabulous!! Make it and you will NOT be disappointed!!! I agree with the readers that this recipe is forgiving and you can other ingredients. I also cooked it for about an hour and drained and rinsed the beans, adding extra water in place of the canned liquid. Thank you LilPhotog!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I wasn't so crazy about this. It had a lot of spices, but not that spicy. Chili should have a kick to it. I'd add jalapeño or poblano peppers as well next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This was really good and had some kick. I did not have chilli powder so I used cumin. I also added three cans of tomatoes as one of the review said and a yellow squash as well. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This recipe was amazingly easy and tastes fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I'm pretty happy with how this came out. The mushrooms are great in this. The spices needed some tweaking, however...I used less garlic powder and added more chili powder and cayenne. This was really good served with mac n cheese from the box. Oh and definitely rinse the beans and add water and salt to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Although I changed the recipe I decided to rate it because there are many issues with this recipe which I did not find good. As made with my changes it was still only 4 stars. I used avocado oil in a larger amount to be GMO free, local organic garlic cloves, local organic white onion, local organic carrots, no bell peppers as I didn't have any on hand, much more chilli powder as it was not enough at all (maybe mine is old and has lost flavour?) others were complaining about this in the reviews as well though, no mushrooms because of a review that said not good for yeast in the body, plus I had none, organic tomato paste and organic tomato juice, home cooked organic great northern beans to hopefully make this recipe GAPS diet appropriate, no corn, upped the cumin which does not make it bitter like some were wondering, I think that would be the oregano which I left out, and no basil or garlic powder, I put a little chopped local organic acorn squash and a tad organic sugar which improved the flavour, I also added a little cayenne pepper powder as this was far from spicy! It needed more chilli flavour! It didn't remind me much if chilli except that I served it with unhomoginised yogurt (instead of sour cream), grated cheese, thinly sliced organic baby leek, cilantro as many mentioned and Beantos bean chips which don't contain corn. Added more cayanne pepper powder at the table and we are not ones for spicy dishes! Also added a little organic black pepper. I will look for a diff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Umm Isa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
The chili will thicken up a bit if you let it sit uncovered once it's finished cooking. I added a 14oz package of tofu at the start of the 20 minute simmering to give it a little extra substance. Very tasty chili! Especially served over brown rice or potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States