Veggie Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I could see from the ingredients in the recipe that you wanted to add the liquid from the canned beans to thicken the chili, but the taste was awful when the liquid was added. You really need to drain the beans and find a different way to thicken the chili, but the recipe wasn't good enough IMHO to bother trying to figure out how to fix it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I love this recipe, and so do all my friends/coworkers! I always add the veggie crumbles at the end, and no one even realizes it's meat free! I'm a little liberal with the spices, usually add celery and zucchini, and have found that adding a tin of tomato sauce and tomato paste makes it more authentic. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This is the best chili I've ever made!! I served it to company and everyone ate and ate! I washed and drained all the cans of beans but kept the liquid from the can of corn. It makes the chili just a tad sweet and special. I used garbanzo, white kidney and pinto beans and it was amazing...We ate it over rice for dinner one night and over baked potatoes the next night and topped it with shredded cheddar cheese and raw diced onions. Yum!!! You won't miss the meat, I promise!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I've made this recipe three times now and each time it has been a success. I have tried some additions like others have mentioned. (ie adding a can of chickpeas, substituting the green pepper for orange/red pepper and adding some extra veggies that were in need of using up). All variations are very tasty. Also, I have tended to add a little more spice and it has always gone over extremely well. All I have to say here is YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Had vegan friends coming to a church dinner. I made this so they would have something they could eat. They said it was Fantastic! Almost the whole family went back for seconds and many meat eating people loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I have already made this several times this winter. I have added vegetarian sausage or meat substitute. Everyone in the family will eat this and like it. I add extra spice because my family likes spicy. Great to put in the crock pot and let it cook all day. I experiment with the spices every time and it seems like it is always delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This is a fantastic vegetarian dish.. I made it for a group of friends and everyone had seconds. Serve with some cornbread or a good loaf of French or Italian bread for a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Just ok. Needs some more spice for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hamilton, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I loved this recipe for the Chili. I decided to modify my version a bit. Instead of using the bean liquid, I drained each can of beans (I used garbanzo beans as well) to reduce sodium and then cooked the Chili wit Veggie broth. For Candida cleanse diets (which I am on now), you can omit the mushrooms, and instead of using canned tomatoes, just cut up fresh tomatoes with the juice. I also added one green fresh jalapeno pepper to give it some zing. Thanks for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This was excellent. It is different that the traditional chili you eat, and that is in a refreshing way. We had a bonfire party and the non vegetarians were impressed with how tasty it was. We followed the recipe. We got compliments all night on it about how great it was. We served it like frito pie with frito chips, cheese and onions and corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States