Veggie Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
Awesome chili! I added a little extra chili powder as suggested by other reviewers, and I steamed the carrots for a few minutes before adding them because I was afraid they might not be tender enough. A really hearty (and healthy!) meal that makes great left overs! Next time I might get brave and add a jalepeno...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEFFY4

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
Great non-meat chili! I made the mistake of using Penzeys Chipotle Chili Powder without realizing its potency. Chili was very spicy, the way I like it but I was making this for a potluck. I did make a few adjustments to the recipe: no mushrooms, frozen corn, 3 10 oz cans of Rotel tomatoes, 1 can dark red kidney, 1 can light red kidney, 1 can pinto (all drained), about 1/3 c water and 10 oz veggie crumbles. Simmered for about 40 minutes and it was great consistency - thick and not watery at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
Very good, very simple and very quick, but it comes out a little thin - adding some meat (which would defeating the purpose of it being vegetarian...)or maybe some bulghar would help that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
We were having a potluck at work for a vegetarian co-worker who was leaving our department so I thought I'd give this recipe a try. It came out so delicious! I added a small can of diced jalepeno's to give it an extra kick and it made the flavor perfect! I used all the liquid from the beans but I drained the liquid from the corn. I cooked the chili until the consistency was what I wanted. I read some say they thought it was too runny. Not the case if you cook it longer. This chili looks so pretty too with all the different colors from the beans, corn and jalepeno. Great recipe! I will make it again...thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiger Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
Yummy, healthy, and very easy. I used celery instead of carrots and added an extra tbs of chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
This was excellent! I made the following changes - only used chili & black beans (drained one can), roasted 6 red & green peppers, added a jalapeno, extra chili powder (could have used more), used ~2c. frozen corn instead of canned, diced tomatoes instead of whole and left out the mushrooms. I'd never made chili before and this was a hit at a potluck gathering. I will be making this again, probably this week! ETA: 1/10/10 I've been making this chili recipe since I found it and LOVE IT. It's the only one I make. I'm currently on a Daniel Fast eating vegan + no sugar/sugar subs + nothing leavened. This chili meets the criteria and is SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
Loved this recipe....Will surely make it again. Like the others, I added more Chili Powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
very good, but not quite enough spice for me....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B.Wilkinson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
What a wonderful chili! Cheap to make too. =) I like to add some extra corn, as I love corn. I especially love the fact that this recipe is so versatile. If I am out of jalapenos, I just add some extra Tabasco and cayenne pepper. If I only have two, not three cans of beans, I can just add some extra veggies. And if some carnivores really want some meat, I will add a pound of ground turkey (healthier than ground beef). However, if you add meat to this chili, I would recommend adding more cayenne pepper and Tabasco sauce. It seems that when meat is added, it soaks up a lot of the heat, as it is not as spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
Simple wholesome flavor. I added ground turkey for a meat kick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States