Veggie Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
very good, but not quite enough spice for me....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B.Wilkinson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
What a wonderful chili! Cheap to make too. =) I like to add some extra corn, as I love corn. I especially love the fact that this recipe is so versatile. If I am out of jalapenos, I just add some extra Tabasco and cayenne pepper. If I only have two, not three cans of beans, I can just add some extra veggies. And if some carnivores really want some meat, I will add a pound of ground turkey (healthier than ground beef). However, if you add meat to this chili, I would recommend adding more cayenne pepper and Tabasco sauce. It seems that when meat is added, it soaks up a lot of the heat, as it is not as spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
Simple wholesome flavor. I added ground turkey for a meat kick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
This recipe was fabulous~! Even my non vegetarian friends wanted the recipe. The only thing diferent I did was add more Chili powder. About 1 teaspoon more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
We make this recipe all the time and I love it. We add a lot of additional spices, but we're big on spices in our family. My husband adds a scoop of hot salsa to his for a kick. I love that it maikes a lot and we have leftovers for quick lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakley, California, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
I am trying to cook more vegetarian meals and my husband, who doesn't feel satisfied without meat, didn't seem to miss the meat at all. I especially enjoyed the variety of beans included in the recipe. I, too, omitted the carrots. Added some BBQ sauce, grill seasoning, a dash of worsterschire sauce, and hot sauce. A word to the wise: Do not make the mistake I did and add water to the pot before it has started to simmer, unless you want soup instead of chili. I should have trusted the recipe! It was still good that way, though, if you want a soup. I made a big, cakelike pan of cornbread to go with this, which was just heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
This is an excellent recipe. As with all recipes, they can be doctored. I have made this recipe 6 times this(low fat lose weight diet)year, and you cannot go wrong what you put it to it. I put in a tad more chili powder, and and about 2 tbps of Heredez Chilpotles with sauce. This does increase the heat big time, but adjust for your preference. Thanks for such a good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
I added season salt, tabasco, and two jalapeno's (one seeded). My hubby is a real meat lover, but we needed something lower calorie and decided to try this one. We BOTH loved it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
The only changes I made to this recipe were the addition of another can of corn and a tablespoon of tomato paste. it was absolutely fantastic, and my omnivore boyfriend didn't miss the beef at all. serve with corn bread and you're good to go
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brenham, Texas, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
Great recipe, except we deleted the carrots, added 3 TBL chili powder, 1/2 tsp oregano, added jalepenos--1/4 c jar, and then added 1 large can of tomato juice, we thought it might be too dry for our tastes. Also just used one can of diced tomotoes and added juice with all the veggies. We loved how spicy it was so we will keep it. We served it with corn bread muffins and added cheese and sour cream, and chips to each inidividual bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States