Veggie Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This is my fav chili recipe! The only changes I make are omitting the carrots and adding some sliced turkey sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Delicious taste, filling, healthy & great for cold winter days! Even my husband (who never eats veggie chili) loves it, even more than the meat ones he used to make! The only change I made was I didn't put in the carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
This was the best chili recipe I have ever tried! The mushrooms were a great touch; they gave it sort of a meaty texture. The only two tweaks I made: omitting the carrots and tossing everything in the crockpot to simmer all day while I was at work. We will DEFINITELY make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Great dish! Made it for a family guest and they loved it! I added twice the mushrooms and made them portabellas....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
Love veggie chili. This is a great basic recipe to use what is on hand and adjust spice. Will use this one a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
I'm very pleased! I used chick peas instead of pinto beans (what I had on hand) and must admit I added a small can of Tomato paste to thicken it up a bit (and used only half the bean liquid.) But it turned out great for a family get together. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsCdnFrog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napanee, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
I was disappointed. It was good, but bland. I substituted spaghetti for the carrots, but everything else I did as the recipe called for. There was just not enough flavor for me. I've added more chili powder and cumin which has helped. I've also added salt and a bit of sugar. I'm still working on it. Hopefully it will be better tomorrow after it sits overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
I thought this chili was awesome. It is a very versatile recipe, allowing for substitutions based on preferences or what you have on hand. My daughter and I are vegetarians, and on weight watchers, and this is a great meal that is low in points and very filling. I eliminated the carrots and substituted an extra can of black beans for the pinto beans, just because I really don't like carrots or pinto beans. I am going to try freezing some of the next batch. Thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
This recipe was sooo good! I added chickpeas and fresh tomatoes but the recipe is very no fail, makes a lot and stays well in the fridge. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
This recipe is good, but I made some changes. First I drained the beans (and added veggie stock), left out the mushrooms, and added celery. I also cooked this for much longer, close to an hour. Very filling and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
197 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States