Veggie Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I made this chili for my vegetarian friends during the super bowl and everyone ended up eating it! It tastes even better than Stagg Veggie Chili (my old favorite). I added a small can of green chiles and took out the carrots. I also added a tablespoon of ancho chili powder because we like spicy chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I made this chili for a Cowboy-themed birthday party. Not all of my family eats meat, so this was perfect. EVERYONE loved it, and several were surprised it didn't have meat. The variety of beans/veggies makes up for the lack of meat. The changes I made: no mushrooms (again, picky family); I drained the beans and added 5.5 oz water per can to make up for the liquid lost; I used only 1/2 the amount of cumin, and this is what I did with the spices: after sauteeing the veggies, I combined ALL the spices in a bowl along with 3 TBS. flour. Then I sprinkled this evenly over the veggies, stirring while they sauteed for a few minutes, and then I added in the tomatoes and everything else. This was delicious and perfect for company. I served it with sour cream and cheddar cheese, and wished I'd made a double batch! With a party of 26 people, there wasn't a drop of chili left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
Hearty, filling and interesting - not what I'd expect from a vegetarian chili! Great flavor, not too spicy but you can laways add more. Was scared of adding bean juice but went with the instructions and was really pleased with the results. Made alongside regular meat chili, mixed up leftovers were great the day after. Can't believe how keen my kids are to eat beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Effie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Awesome and easy. I too rinsed the beans and replaced the juice with water to reduce gas issues. Also my family doesn't care for green peppers, so I replaced with a can of dices green chilis. Very forgiving recipe and the leftovers are fabulous. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
This is good and really easy to throw together. I'm stumped, however, as to what it's lacking. Can't put my finger on it, but the recipe is very forgiving, so maybe I'll find that missing ingredient afterall. I added chopped jalapeno pepper and red pepper flakes to make it spicier. It almost tastes like too much chili powder. I drained the beans as I don't like all that salty liquid. Just need to compensate by adding additional liquid. It's certainly edible, but I wasnt 'wowed' by it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
Great veggie chili! I normally make chili with ground beef, but love vegetarian ones, so decided to give this one a shot. Since I usually do chili in my crockpot, I decided to do the same for this. Didn't use pinto beans as I didn't have any, so added a tin of Heinz beans with pork and molasses (they go into my standard chili anyway). I also drained all of my beans (except for the Heinz ones), added one jalapeno and a generous pinch of spicy red pepper flakes. Towards the end, I took the lid off my crockpot, turned it off and let sit for about an hour as I always find this helps to thicken. Perfect dinner for tonight as we just got a ton of snow!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
delicious! It is really good as it is, but like any chili, you can out in whatever you want, as long as it is in moderation. A handful of butterbeans was a nice extra ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yokosuka, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
This was great! In my effort to get more beans into my kids without their knowing it, I pureed about half of the beans and 1/4 of the tomatoes. This thickened it up, and my husband commented that he loved the thickness of it. I also added a little ground turkey and topped with a sprinkle of raw cheddar cheese and tortilla chips. Delicioso!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I've finally found it- the perfect recipe for bean veggie chili!! I love Stagg's Garden Vegetable Chili, but would like it to be more "fresh" and less salty. Well, this is like a fresher, healthier version of that chili. I just love it! I omitted the mushrooms, added one jalepeno and had to use roasted red peppers for the red ones because I was out of fresh. I made this in the crockpot and it worked out perfectly. I added about 1/2 cup of water but around midday, it was too thin so I added a 6 oz. can of no-salt tomato paste. I love, love, love this recipe! It makes A LOT too- we'll be enjoying this for a few days- yay! I might try freezing some. I served this with Fry Bread I for dinner. Oh, my one-year old loved this too. He just ate and ate and ate. Good for the whole family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Great recipe! I added some zuccini squash, omitted the carrots and added a bit of jalepeno pepers. It was a quick and easy dish to make, and my guests loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States