Veggie Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Yum! I made this for a teacher appreciation luncheon and it was a big hit! Three people asked for the recipe... I made another batch for my family who also loved it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
This was the best chili i have ever had in my life. my husband, my father in law, my mother and her best friend all got to try some, and it was gone the next day. but i have a suggestion for you, next time you make it, try adding, cilantro to the recipe. we put it in as we went along, and it was really awesome. Thank you fro sharing your recipe with everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Snow

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
So I've never made a great vegetarian chili before and then I was skeptical about this recipe since there were reviews that said it tasted like stagg's vegetarian chili(very gross)and I almost didn't try it. But fortunately there were enough good reviews to forge ahead. Two words su perb! Made it for a babyshower of 40 people. EVERYONE loved it to bits and pieces, scraping the bottom of the pan type action. Here are my alterations. I used all the veggies listed except subbed the green bell for an orange. Added tbl of diced jalepeno. Added an eggplant, cubed. Left out bean liquid, subbed veggie broth. added can tomato sauce. little worcertershire sauce(careful not veggie friendly). No basil. couple pinches ground cayenne. and a lil salt. subbed garbanzos for the pintos(better taste and texture). Was a complete hit. People kept asking what was in it. A major success. Will make again and again. Oh, I also let it sit on low overnight and the next day till about 4:30 when the party started. enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Forest Grove, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ajerde
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
This was great! It made about enough for 4-5 people to eat dinner comfortably, especially with a side of cornbread! We used bell peppers that were yellow and orange along with the green and red ones for extra color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajerde
Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
I made a few changes. I cooked it in the crockpot, and felt it needed a few hours more than the 7 I gave it. Because I used a crock, I didn't need the liquid from the beans. I used petite diced tomatoes instead of whole. I used only pinto beans. I omitted the corn and carrots, but added a cup of celery. I added a can of tomato paste, and increased the chili powder. It was very tasty, especially with cheese and sour cream on top. Was it the best chili I'd ever had? No, but this had a fresh, healthy taste. And the nutrition can't be beat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
Loved it. Instead of the oregano, basil and garlic powder I spiced it up with celery salt, cajun seasoning, crushed red pepper and Tabasco. Also left out mushrooms and used crushed rather than whole tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrystalGayle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
I loved this dish! I did have all types of beans on hand but it still turned out lovely. Oh, I added jalapenos and small can of corn kernels :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kazza

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lancaster, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I made this chili for my vegetarian friends during the super bowl and everyone ended up eating it! It tastes even better than Stagg Veggie Chili (my old favorite). I added a small can of green chiles and took out the carrots. I also added a tablespoon of ancho chili powder because we like spicy chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I made this chili for a Cowboy-themed birthday party. Not all of my family eats meat, so this was perfect. EVERYONE loved it, and several were surprised it didn't have meat. The variety of beans/veggies makes up for the lack of meat. The changes I made: no mushrooms (again, picky family); I drained the beans and added 5.5 oz water per can to make up for the liquid lost; I used only 1/2 the amount of cumin, and this is what I did with the spices: after sauteeing the veggies, I combined ALL the spices in a bowl along with 3 TBS. flour. Then I sprinkled this evenly over the veggies, stirring while they sauteed for a few minutes, and then I added in the tomatoes and everything else. This was delicious and perfect for company. I served it with sour cream and cheddar cheese, and wished I'd made a double batch! With a party of 26 people, there wasn't a drop of chili left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
Hearty, filling and interesting - not what I'd expect from a vegetarian chili! Great flavor, not too spicy but you can laways add more. Was scared of adding bean juice but went with the instructions and was really pleased with the results. Made alongside regular meat chili, mixed up leftovers were great the day after. Can't believe how keen my kids are to eat beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Effie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

Related Videos

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States